Skip to main content

Information About Emily - Folkestone tutor -

Profile Picture

Emily's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Emily:





Subjects Taught

Emily offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!


Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00
Secondary £18.00
GCSE £18.00
A-Level £18.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00
Secondary £18.00
GCSE £18.00

Map Location

Map for Emily

Personal Description:

My name is Emily, and I am 22. I have a first class degree in English Literature, and I am about to complete my masters in Medical History and the Humanities, both at the University of York. I am currently living at home and I would love continue the tutoring that I began in York. I'm a very hardworking and passionate person, and I would love to share this with a tutee. Even though my main passion is English, since my Spanish A level I have been taking additional qualifications at university because I love the Spanish language and culture. In my spare time I also do a lot of running.

Tutoring Experience:

I volunteered for three years with a Brownie pack (for girls aged between seven and nine) and during this time qualified as a Young Leader. Part of the assessment for this position was teaching and leadership skills, as well as being able to interact well with children that age. I also spent some time in a primary school teaching young children to read.

Having said this, I would also love the chance to have some older tutees. My sister, who is two years younger than me, is dyslexic, and I've spent time helping her with her English skills because she's always struggled with essays.

Tutoring Approach:

Having lacked a self-confidence at school, I think the most important approach to tutoring is reassuring the tutee about their progress and potential. Especially at the higher levels, exam requirements and techniques can be confusing and a source of anxiety so this would be a key focus of any tutoring session. Having said that, small things can make a big difference; learning to paragraph properly and a good grasp of grammar can make a massive difference.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • University of York (2016) - BA English and Related Literature (final results pending) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Ashford School (2013) - A Level (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Folkestone English tutor, Folkestone Spanish tutor, Folkestone Primary English tutor, Folkestone Secondary English tutor, Folkestone GCSE English tutor, Folkestone A-Level English tutor, Folkestone Primary Spanish tutor, Folkestone Secondary Spanish tutor, Folkestone GCSE Spanish tutor