Skip to main content

Information About Emily - Edinburgh tutor

Profile Picture

Emily's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Emily:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Emily offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £15.00£13.50

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
A-Level £20.00£18.00

Religious Studies

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
A-Level £20.00£18.00

Psychology

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
University £25.00£22.50

Philosophy / Critical Thinking

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
University £25.00£22.50

Map Location

Map for Emily (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I graduated from Newcastle University in 2012 with a 2:1. Since then I worked in London completing various journalistic and editorial internships and voluntary placements and supplemented my income by working in hospitality. I then began temping for AB Publishing in London as their administration assistant, and they offered me permanent employment as their administrator. I then spent a year abroad during 2014-2015 working in New Zealand and Australia. I have recently moved to Edinburgh and have begun a part time masters, I am looking for tutoring work to support this. I am applying for a PhD next year so tutoring is invaluable experience for that.

Tutoring Experience:

Teaching GCSE maths, English and science to children in 2 schools in India in 2011.
Tutoring/mentoring at Secondary and A-level school to younger years 1 on 1 homework help.
Taught a circus skills workshop during A-levels.

Tutoring Approach:

I take an accommodating approach to tuition. I begin with an assessment of the pupil's needs and expectations, then a look at their existing skills. I then formulate a lesson plan according to their needs, and those of the parents where the pupil is under 18. A rough schedule/timetable will be outlined and they will be given a copy - over an expected number of weeks, or those set out at the beginning of the series of lessons.

I adapt the schedule according to how quickly they pick up the new ideas or how well they approach the work given. I will give homework at the end of each lesson or a passage or article for them to read before the next lesson.

Qualifications:

  • Newcastle University (2012) - 2:1 (hons) in Philosophy (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Lancaster Girls' Grammar School (2009) - A Level Religious Studies (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Lancaster Girls' Grammar School (2009) - A Level Psychology (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Lancaster Girls' Grammar School (2009) - AS Level Maths (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Edinburgh Maths tutor, Edinburgh English tutor, Edinburgh Religious Studies tutor, Edinburgh Psychology tutor, Edinburgh Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Maths tutor, Edinburgh A-Level English tutor, Edinburgh A-Level Religious Studies tutor, Edinburgh University Psychology tutor, Edinburgh University Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor