Skip to main content

Information About Ellen Ann - Wrexham tutor

Profile Picture

Ellen Ann's profile picture

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Casual Learner £15.00

Map Location

Map for Ellen Ann (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

My name is Ellen , and I have been in the teaching profession for 15 years. I live in the Wrexham area, and I am willing to travel to pupil's houses too.
My hobbies include walking, eating out, cinema, theatre, listening to live bands and a spot of eBay too!
I do work as a primary teacher, working within the LEA authority of Wrexham, Flintshire and Shropshire as well. I have taught a wide-range of age groups, but mostly infants, but I have taught juniors too.

Tutoring Experience:

I qualified from Bangor University, with a B.Ed Honours 2(I), with my specialist subjects being History and Religious Studies.
My first teaching post was covering a maternity leave, with 26 children in total in a Year One class. The class was open planned, and I had to cover all subjects relating to the National Curriculum.
From there, I worked in England for five years, teaching Reception and Year One, again I taught all subjects relating to the National Curriculum and Foundation Subjects too.
Whilst I was at this post, I was the History Co-ordinator and PSHE Co-ordinator. My job role was type up the school's policy. order resources, monitor teachers to see whether the subject was being delivered appropriately and I also organised a school trip to a museum as part of their History curriculum.
After five years of travelling a long distance, I decided to teach back in the North Wales and Shropshire area. I have enjoyed the diversity and flexibility that supply teaching can offer me. I have had long term sickness covers, mainly in the infants department, where I'm expected to plan, mark and report back to parents too.

Tutoring Approach:

It was in 2007 I decided to tutor at the weekends and evenings. A friend of mine who was already tutoring, suggested the idea to me, as with all the resources I had it could be of great benefit to a child.
From 2007 to 2011 I tutored children from age six to eleven, mainly literacy skills. My lessons included reading, grammar, spellings, word searches, comprehension and writing stories.
I always tried to ensure the lessons were fun, creative and positive outcome for the child. Feedback was always given to the parents, and work always had a constructive comment with a date too.
I took a break from tutoring after 2011, as I was trying to revamp my house which does take a lot of time and money.
Then in 2013 I opted back into tutoring, again using all the ample resources I have in my house.
I am hard-working, committed, flexible, have good time keeping, punctual, reliable, professional and honest too.
Given the opportunity I'm sure I would be a great benefit to a child or adult's learning.

Qualifications:

  • BSY (2008) - Diploma in Dyslexia (Other) (✔ On File)
  • BSY (2008) - Diploma in Writing Articles (Other) (✔ On File)
  • University of Wales, Bangor (1999) - B.Ed Honours -2(i) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Yale College (1996) - BTeC National Diploma (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Wrexham English tutor, Wrexham Primary English tutor, Wrexham Casual Learner English tutor