Elisa

Elisa

Milton Keynes Tutor

I have an honours degree and PhD in Medicinal Chemistry and have studied Physics and Biology to A-level (and a small amount at university). I have 10 years experience in the pharmaceutical industry so I can bring lots of 'real' applications of academic science to a student's learning.
I decided to pursue a career in science due to some excellent teachers and would love to pass on some of my knowledge in these fascinating and important subjects.
I am currently a stay at home mum to 2 young children and am planning to re-train as a secondary teacher in the future.

Tutoring Experience

I have no formal teaching experience but have done a small amount of tutoring in the past and have been responsible for running various 'learning sessions' both internally and externally while working for a pharmaceutical company.

I have a calm manner and am very approachable. Both of these are important in communicating with students and ensuring they believe in their own abilities.

I am DBS checked

Tutoring Approach

I will treat every tutee as an individual and as such will continually modify my tutoring techniques to both the age, ability and personality of the student to ensure that they reach their full potential.
I believe science is fascinating and would love to help students understand some of the key ideas and how they can be applied to 'real life' as this can often help in grasping ideas that are complex or new.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (daytime)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of London2001DoctoratePhD Medicinal Chemistry
University of Newcastle upon Tyne1998Bachelors2:1 Medicinal Chemistry
City of Sunderland College1994CollegeA-level Chemistry, Physics, Biology
Farringdon Comprehensive 1992SchoolAdditional maths

Elisa's Feedback

Feedback
11
Published feedback
11
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Elisa
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£30
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
Casual Learner£30
Physics
Primary£30
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
Chemistry
Primary£30
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
Biology
Primary£30
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
Combined Science
Primary£30
Secondary£30
GCSE£30