Skip to main content

Information About Eleanor - Clapham tutor

Profile Picture

Eleanor's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Eleanor:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00

History

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £35.00
13 Plus £35.00

Map Location

Map for Eleanor (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

Hello, my name is Eleanor and I am a 24 year old living in Finsbury Park. In 2013 I graduated from Durham University with a 2:1 in History. I spent the following year travelling around Spain, Africa and South East Asia.

While I love History, I am also very passionate about English Literature - during my year abroad I spent a month working for the English newspaper 'The Citizen' in Dar Es Salaam. I have continued to pursue a career in the publishing world; I completed a 3 month paid internship at the prestigious literary agency Curtis Brown and 8 month paid internship at The Caroline Sheldon Literary Agency. I now have a permanent job as an editorial assistant.

I am happy to tutor pupils in any subject at primary level and I can offer tutoring up to GCSE level and A Level in History and English. I hope to hear from you soon!

Tutoring Experience:

- During my time in Tanzania, I taught children from the age of 5 to 12 year old how to read and write - some of whom had disabilities.

- As part of my Gold Duke of Edinburgh Award, I volunteered as a teacher's assistant once a week for 12 months at St Dunstan's Primary School in Calne.

- I am one of five children and I have often helped my own siblings with their studies.

Tutoring Approach:

While I haven't had much teaching experience I believe my academic career, personality and genuine interest in my chosen studies have equipped me with the necessary skills to be an excellent tutor.

When I was teaching in Tanzania, the classes were made up of 30 to 40 children - I found it very frustrating not being able to give each individual the help they needed. As a result, I believe that one on one tutoring would be far more fulfilling as I could give someone the right support and attention to achieve their full potential.

Throughout my time at school and university, I found I was constantly changing and adapting my revision methods. I understand that people learn in different ways, be it colour coding or cue cards or spider diagrams etc. All in all, if one way doesn't work then by no means does that mean you can't learn it.

Qualifications:

  • Durham University (2013) - 2:1 in History (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • St Mary's School Calne (2010) - 3 A Levels in History, English and Latin (2 A*s and 1 A) (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • St Mary's School Calne (2009) - 4 A Levels in History, English, Latin and Economics (4 As) (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • St Mary's School Calne (2008) - 8 A*s and 3 As (College) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Clapham English tutor, Clapham History tutor, Clapham Entrance Exams tutor, Clapham Primary English tutor, Clapham Secondary English tutor, Clapham GCSE English tutor, Clapham Primary History tutor, Clapham Secondary History tutor, Clapham GCSE History tutor, Clapham A-Level History tutor, Clapham Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Clapham Secondary Entrance Exams tutor