Information About Eleanor - Paddington tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Eleanor's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Eleanor:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00

Map Location

Map for Eleanor (Ms)


Personal Description:

I was born in South-East London, and went to primary and secondary school in Brockley. In 2006 I began my undergraduate degree in English at Cambridge University, a subject about which I have always been passionate. In 2009 I graduated with a first class degree, and then, after a year back in London working and doing work experience, I went back to Cambridge to do a Masters degree in Renaissance English Literature. I've always loved literature of all sorts, and am considering possibly doing a PhD at some point in the next few years. I also have a high level of French, which I studied to A-Level and also kept up during my degree with a French literature paper. I have been to France many times, I read novels in French, and my intention is to get completely fluent in the language over the next couple of years.

Tutoring Experience:

I have tutored six students over the past year and a half, some for the length of the entire academic year. I have helped students studying for GCSE, AS Level and A Level. These students have been very different from one another, some already working at a high grade and some not. I have helped them with essay structure, written expression, grammar, rhetoric and forming arguments, and have worked with them on texts as diverse as Of Mice and Men, Carol Ann Duffy's poetry, The Colour Purple, Twelfth Night, and A View From the Bridge. I have also done extensive work with students on preparing for exams, how to approach the exam paper, and tackling unseen texts on the day.

Tutoring Approach:

Everyone reads a piece of literature differently, and everyone presents their ideas differently, and I pay attention to an individual's strengths and weaknesses. I listen carefully and I try not to talk too much, so that the tutee can explain what they need help with or want to discuss in greater depth. I understand the precise demands of a set curriculum, and always keep the student's specific goals in focus. From structuring an essay to working out what you actually want to say (not always easy), I am good at listening and identifying where problems lie. English can also be hugely enjoyable and rewarding, so I will always approach it with interest and enthusiasm.


  • University of Cambridge (2011) - MPhil in Renaissance English Literature (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Cambridge (2009) - BA English - 1st class (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Prendergast School, London (2006) - A Level in French - A grade (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Paddington English tutor, Paddington French tutor, Paddington Primary English tutor, Paddington Secondary English tutor, Paddington GCSE English tutor, Paddington A-Level English tutor, Paddington University English tutor, Paddington Casual Learner English tutor, Paddington Primary French tutor, Paddington Secondary French tutor