Ed

Ed

Edinburgh Tutor

I'm a 22 year old master's graduate from the University of Edinburgh, studying Linguistics. I speak fluent German and Spanish, having learnt in the education system all the way. I have also completed a Linguistics with German degree at the University of York. I run an account on Memrise (a language learning website) where I have given scores of vocabulary cards and mini lessons for German and Spanish A-Level students which have been highly reviewed. I have also spent a lot of time in both Spain and Germany and so have had regular conversational experience too. This August I was a translator for a wedding for my friend's Spanish relatives). I can offer materials from my time as an A-Level and GCSE student in grammar but I can also serve as a conversational tutor in preparation for oral and listening exams. I have a high knowledge of German and Spanish grammar and pronunciation both from an academic linguistic perspective and also from a layman's. I can easily make grammar and pronunciation structures, rules and oddities accessible at the level needed.

I believe I have a talent for languages that I can share. I completed Spanish A-Level at grade A in just one year so I believe I am experienced with what tactics to enforce in order to ensure academic success.

Tutoring Experience

I have taught German at primary level in a primary school. I was president of the German society at York which regularly held language conversation practices and I also taught ab-initio German to first years at the university when I was in my second year. (ab-initio means that they had to learn essentially three years of German in just one year). I also have given lectures on the evolution of German over time and I have taught German and Spanish (and even Linguistics) in more casual settings with my friends). As mentioned I have a highly reviewed account on Memrise where I have stored my materials from A-Level.

Tutoring Approach

I find my knowledge of linguistics is a great asset in language teaching, knowing syntactic knowledge helps me understand the perspective of the learner's experience. I also am very familiar with this experience myself having been through the education system. I can spot where people are having trouble comprehending a grammar point and show the tactics or perspectives that need to be employed to understand them. Simple fluency in a language doesn't mean you can explicitly describe what you know necessarily. As mentioned I have kept the materials which I believe best helped me when I was a student. I'm also very patient with learners (I've been there, learning languages is not the easiest) and I understand how to prioritise which elements of the language should be learnt at any given point in someone's learning.

LanguagesEnglish (British), German, Spanish
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of York2017Bachelors2:1 in Linguistics with German
Shrewsbury Sixth Form College2014CollegeA* in A Level German
Shrewsbury Sixth Form College2014CollegeA in A Level Spanish
Ed
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
German
Secondary£20
GCSE£20
A-Level£20
Casual Learner£20
Spanish
Secondary£20
GCSE£20
A-Level£20
Casual Learner£20