Skip to main content

Information About Dun Jack - Oxford tutor

Profile Picture

Dun Jack's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Dun Jack:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
14 Plus £40.00
College £40.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Medicine

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Map for Dun Jack (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am Danish born Chinese who grew up in the IB system, but have lived in the UK for the past 8 years.
I recently moved from Scotland having finished a PhD in Molecular Genetics and Dermatology. My research was very hands-on and focused on finding better therapies for debilitating skin disorders. I am still very much interested in pursuing research, but would like to be closer to the clinic. So I am currently on the graduate-entry medicine course at the University of Oxford.

I am a keen basketball player and paleo-chef. However, now that Oxford is my new home most of my time is spent exploring it and its surroundings with my girlfriend.

Keen basketball player and paleo cook

Tutoring Experience:

During my graduate studies I oversaw >15 biology and biochemistry tutorials, as well as practical demonstrations for BsC students. I have also been responsible for the full-time training of a bachelor student in the lab.

For 2 years, I was the head basketball coach for the University of Dundee's mens first team (premier division) and won Coach of the Year in 2013. I am currently the coach for University of Oxford's mens seconds team.

I have also had experience with younger audiences. In 2012 and 2013, I volunteered at the Tayside and Fife school's science week; introducing a wide range of concepts (from microscopes to mass spectrometry) to GCSE student.

Tutoring Approach:

My first step with my tutee would be identify the goal for us to reach together.
We would then break the goal down into smaller steps that make sense for them and I. I should NOT just be a Google-answering machine, I believe that preparation from me will optimise my time with my tutee(s).
Although I also begin with a structured approach, through tutoring and coaching I have learned to get the most out my tutees by being flexible. Finding whether they prefer the carrot or stick.

The most important aspect for me is that we build repoire. Its not that we have to be the best of friends, but I believe that building such a relationship will bring about better results and do so in a far more enjoyable way.
My best tutors were the ones I got along.

Qualifications:

  • University of Dundee (2014) - Doctor of Philosophy in Molecular Genetics (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • University of Sussex (2010) - BsC (1st Class Hons) Molecular medicine (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Copenhagen International School (2009) - IB Diploma (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Chinese, Danish, Hainan
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Oxford Maths tutor, Oxford Biology tutor, Oxford Entrance Exams tutor, Oxford Medicine tutor, Oxford GCSE Maths tutor, Oxford A-Level Maths tutor, Oxford GCSE Biology tutor, Oxford A-Level Biology tutor, Oxford University Biology tutor, Oxford Casual Learner Biology tutor, Oxford GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Oxford A-Level Entrance Exams tutor, Oxford University Entrance Exams tutor, Oxford Casual Learner Entrance Exams tutor, Oxford GCSE Medicine tutor, Oxford A-Level Medicine tutor, Oxford University Medicine tutor, Oxford Casual Learner Medicine tutor