Information About Douglas - Haringey tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Douglas's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Douglas:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £50.00
Secondary £50.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £50.00
Secondary £50.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00

Map Location

Map for Douglas (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a keen swimmer, am married with two children. I enjoy visiting western European cities and updating old property. I like gardening, but it tends to be the wild or destructive type, leaving the creative to my wife. I read widely, Especially modern English Language fiction and subscribe to subject periodicals e.g History Today. I like to cook fast food as well as slow. I am a social person and have a wide range of friends from all walks of life, some of whom I ramble with throughout the British countryside. Now that my children have grown up I plan to take things easy but need to supplement my income.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught for 30 years in both subject areas. I ended my career as a head of Geography in a large mixed comprehensive in London. That means I have taught KS3, GCSE and AS and A levels. I and my classes achieved pretty satisfactory to outstanding results. It also means I am up to date with content, key skills and case studies. I have tutored in the past both at GCSE and A level. I found it quite interesting and challenging in finding out where the tutee was, needed to go and how to get there. All my tutees improved their predicted grades.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe now is the time to meet a tutor if you are in the final year of GCSE or A level. After all in under two months you could be sitting your trial exams, so now is the moment for action. I offer you the scientific method in passing your exam or allowing you to achieve the grade you desire. My method includes an investigation as to where you are now, an insight into the syllabus and past papers and a systematic review of what you need to know as well as a clear grasp of the essential subject skills. The point is can you afford to be without me for your exam success.


  • Edinburgh University (1980) - in Geography & History (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Nottingham Trent University (1978) - BA Honours Degree in History and Geography; PGC in Education (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Haringey History tutor, Haringey Geography tutor, Haringey Primary History tutor, Haringey Secondary History tutor, Haringey GCSE History tutor, Haringey A-Level History tutor, Haringey Primary Geography tutor, Haringey Secondary Geography tutor, Haringey GCSE Geography tutor, Haringey A-Level Geography tutor