Skip to main content

Information About Despoina - Barnes tutor

Profile Picture

Despoina's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Despoina:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Greek (Ancient)

Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £50.00

Map Location

Map for Despoina (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I am an Imperial College graduate in Biomedical Engineering (MEng). Currently I am a PhD student at UCL, working on Tissue Engineering and Nanotechnology.

Thanks to my interdisciplinary degree and PhD I have developed strong analytical and time management skills. Having participated and presented in conferences around the world as an undergraduate and PhD student I have developed strong communication skills that enable me to deliver complicated concepts in a concise and understandable manner.

I am a sociable individual with a passion for science. I enjoy communicating scientific concepts and inspiring young students to further their knowledge in the field.

My aim as a tutor is not only to improve the students' performance in the subject they struggle, but also to help them fully understand and appreciate the subject at hand.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been working for the past two years as a Maths and Science tutor, focusing on GCSE and KS3.

I have previous experience with engaging children with science and engineering. During my undergrad I worked closely with the Public Engagement office of my home department (Bioengineering) and worked with children of all ages in public engagement activities. Most prominently, I worked during the summer of 2015 for the Imperial Engineering Summer School as a mentor. There, I was mentoring girls aged 12-15 interested in the field.

Tutoring Approach:

My current approach is trying to first discuss with the parents the needs of the children that themselves and/ or the school have identified. Then, I try to understand the level of the student and their needs by a series of escalating exercises. From there, I identify the needs of the student and they way I need to tailor the lesson to them.

On a day to day basis, I begin the lesson with a couple of revision exercises and then continue the lesson after ensuring that the student has understood the material.

Homework is given when deemed necessary.

Qualifications:

  • University College London (2019) - Expected (Doctorate) (in progress)
  • Imperial College London (2015) - 2:1 MEng Biomedical Engineering (Masters) (✔ On File)
Native Language: Greek
Additional Languages: English (British), German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Barnes Maths tutor, Barnes Physics tutor, Barnes Chemistry tutor, Barnes Biology tutor, Barnes Greek (Ancient) tutor, Barnes Primary Maths tutor, Barnes Secondary Maths tutor, Barnes GCSE Maths tutor, Barnes Secondary Physics tutor, Barnes GCSE Physics tutor, Barnes A-Level Physics tutor, Barnes GCSE Chemistry tutor, Barnes A-Level Chemistry tutor, Barnes Secondary Biology tutor, Barnes GCSE Biology tutor, Barnes A-Level Biology tutor, Barnes Secondary Greek (Ancient) tutor, Barnes GCSE Greek (Ancient) tutor