Dennis

Hockley Tutor

At present I am a retired teacher; I would prefer to carry on working as a private tutor. I spent 9 years in the Army before qualifying as a teacher and have spent about 30 years as a teacher; 20 years full time in schools and the last 12 years as a supply teacher.

Tutoring Experience

I spent about 20 years teaching full time in secondary schools in the Eseex area teaching all age groups up to A Level standard. I have taught a variety of subjects ranging from Humanities (History, Geography and RE) to Years 7, 8 and 9 up to GCSE and GCE A Level in subjects like Economics, Business Studies,Keyboarding and Accounts. After taking a short break from teaching I returned to teaching on a supply basis but almost exclusively in Primary schools. I have also done some individual private tuition.

Tutoring Approach

I like to direct all lessons to help the individual strengths of the pupils. I think it is important to identify the strengths and weakness of each student and then to build on the strengths while aiming to correct the weaknesses. Where possible I would like to make all lessons enjoyable for the pupil withour detracting from the serious nature of tutoring. I am not a clock watcher if I can help it so if necessary and possible I would extend any lesson beyond the normal limit by a short time at no extra cost.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

0GCE in 7 subjects including English and Maths. A levels in History and Geography
0Cert Ed in Education, Economics and Economic History
0B Ed in Economics and Economic History
0Supplementary Certificate in Business Studies education

Dennis's Feedback

Feedback
5
Published feedback
5
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 4 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£18
English
Primary£18
Entrance Exams
Primary£18