Skip to main content

Information About Denis - Southport tutor

Profile Picture

Denis's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Denis:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Denis offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00£15.00
Secondary £20.00£15.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00£15.00
Secondary £20.00£15.00
GCSE £20.00£15.00
A-Level £20.00£15.00
University £20.00£15.00
Casual Learner £20.00£15.00

History Of Art

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00£15.00
GCSE £20.00£15.00
A-Level £20.00£15.00

Map Location

Map for Denis

Personal Description:

A Cambridge University graduate, I am passionate about life long learning, communication and research. After 5 years working internationally in the world's top British schools and having travelled and trekked around Asia, my return to England is most welcome as now I am settling down in the Chester area of England.
I believe learning should be fun and meeting new people is always special to me, as my private students all have known in the past. If you want a tutor to connect with fully, and to build a learning relationship with then I would love to hear from you.

Tutoring Experience:

At 46 years old, I have travelled and taught in British schools both in UK and Asia for 14 years. After graduating from Cambridge University in 1999 I taught Art, Drama, English and English as Foreign language for 9 years beginning in in Jersey, Channel Islands and then in London. In 2012 I decided to teach abroad in the private sector for 5 years, and took on Head of Department roles in top British international schools, one in Bangkok Thailand, and one in Shanghai China. I am qualified and experienced to teach students from 5 years to Adult, and all my students make exceptional progress. I have many testimonials to say so!
I have had much success and experience preparing students for the Cambridge International Language exams (YLE for Primary students, PET, KET and FCE for secondary students and adults) which are aimed at foreign students who want to improve their English quickly and get Cambridge Certificates to say so. I have 100% pass rates.

Tutoring Approach:

I take an explicit contextual teaching approach and assume nothing about my students until I meet them. Teaching and learning should be enjoyable and exciting which a rich variety of media. I use text books, CD ROM's, internet based study activities, and sometimes board games for reinforcement. I create tailored lesson planning for every student which is always different according to their needs. It is very important that students have ownership over their learning and so they play their part in directing the types and content of lessons that I deliver to them.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Lexis Education (2012) - TESMC (Licensed Teacher Trainer): 'Teaching ESL in Mainstream Classrooms) (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • University of Cambridge (2008) - CELTA (Certificate English Language Teaching to Adults) (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • University of Cambridge (1999) - Art and Design (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of East Anglia (1995) - Art and Design (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Southport English tutor, Southport English (Foreign Language) tutor, Southport History Of Art tutor, Southport Primary English tutor, Southport Secondary English tutor, Southport Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Southport Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Southport GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Southport A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Southport University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Southport Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor, Southport Secondary History Of Art tutor, Southport GCSE History Of Art tutor, Southport A-Level History Of Art tutor