Skip to main content

Information About Deborah - Chichester tutor -
(4 reviews)

Profile Picture

Deborah's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Deborah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00
Secondary £20.00
Casual Learner £22.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00
Casual Learner £22.00

Map Location

Map for Deborah (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I have many years of teaching experience. I am currently combining supply teaching, working with adult learners, and tutoring. I started tutoring a few years ago on a very casual basis and I enjoyed it immensely. Since then I have had pupils ranging from eight to seventy-five years of age, and now I am doing more on a regular basis.
I've always been happiest when training colleagues, or knowing that I have helped someone achieve a goal or gain understanding in some way.
I enjoy variety and challenges in life: I was once a Motorcycle Instructor for the WSCC Motorcycle Training Scheme (Parts I & II) at Tangmere Airfield - before they built on it!

Tutoring Experience:

I am an experienced teacher, mostly within Key Stage 2 and some within Key Stage 3. I taught in Worthing Middle Schools and had - among others - responsibilities for Maths and English planning, particularly in Year 7. I have taught Maths in Year 7 - all abilities - and I have also been involved in Maths KS 2 SATs marking. I have tutored in maths from primary to Key Stage 3, and also to adult learners.
My main subject is Maths, but I also offer tutoring in English. Since I began tutoring I have also had older pupils for KS 3 Maths, and I have taught Basic Skills, Basic Computer Skills, Key Skills, and Skills For Life to adults.

I love reading and writing, and I employ a high standard of English. I have taken part in Summer Schools in Austria and Worthing where I helped to teach spoken English to foreign students. I am a writer and I have experience of teaching Drama and directing stage productions. My experience in drama has helped students in their speaking and listening skills. I have assisted adults in preparing for presentations and job interviews. I've also assisted some adults in their NVQ Retail Skills (Levels 2 & 3) studies.

Tutoring Approach:

As one who grappled with Maths at school herself, I find it hugely satisfying to be able to help others who are experiencing similar difficulties today. I know how intimidating this subject can be and the huge barrier that this can present in itself.
My aim is to build confidence, solid foundations, and an "I can do" approach, whether in Maths or English. As a tutor, I consider it paramount to establish a relationship of trust and a non-threatening, non-judgemental environment that helps to put pupils at ease, whatever their age or circumstances. I have a positive, fun approach, and I often include many practical aspects that give topics a real-life context.

My tutoring is always tailored to the needs and objectives of the individual, and I establish what these are from the beginning. I also keep as up to date as possible with the National Curriculum in Maths and English. I am able to plan a series of progressive sessions should this be required.

Qualifications:

  • West Sussex Institute Of Higher Education (1990) - B.Ed (Hons) Education 2:2 (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Chichester Maths tutor, Chichester English tutor, Chichester Primary Maths tutor, Chichester Secondary Maths tutor, Chichester Casual Learner Maths tutor, Chichester Primary English tutor, Chichester Casual Learner English tutor