Skip to main content

Information About Deborah - Lifton tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Deborah's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Deborah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Deborah (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I enjoy maths and helping other people to enjoy it too. I have always kept up my interest in maths by studying with the Open University and I particularly enjoy finding ways to use games and puzzles to create interest and understanding. I worked in business computing and always enjoyed the training side of the job. At the moment I am working as a private tutor, helping my husband to renovate and restore a seventeenth century house and training an unruly young sprollie dog.

Tutoring Experience:

I have a PGCE in secondary maths teaching and taught in a secondary school for one year. During my career in IT I trained staff in programming techniques, and also trained users as part of the implementation of the many systems I was involved in. My enjoyment of maths and teaching led me to refresh and extend my skills by studying for a PGCE in post compulsory education. During the course of this I gained experience of whole class teaching, one to one and small group tutoring at GCSE and A-level. I have now been tutoring successfully for the last year, including students studying for GCSE, GCSE resits and AS level. I also have experience of teaching pupils with dyslexia.

Tutoring Approach:

I love helping other people to understand and enjoy maths, and I know that the classroom is not always the best place to do this – many people need the individual attention that one to one or small group tutoring gives in order to bring up their basic skills, learn to build on them and so gain confidence and enjoyment. Maths is too often the subject that people learn to hate and fear – a little one to one help can turn all that around. I aim to give my students a good understanding of the subject rather than learning one-off tricks and rules. I live in Kellacott and am willing to travel to any of the nearby towns - Launceston, Tavistock, Callington, Holsworthy, Okehampton.

Qualifications:

  • Plymouth university (2011) - Maths in Lifelong Learning (FE) (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Open University (2007) - Maths (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Open University (1994) - First Class honours Maths (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Exeter university (1984) - Maths Secondary (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Lifton Maths tutor, Lifton Secondary Maths tutor, Lifton GCSE Maths tutor, Lifton Casual Learner Maths tutor