Skip to main content

Information About Deborah - Matlock tutor

Profile Picture

Deborah's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Deborah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Deborah (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

After graduating with an honours degree in PE and Psychology, I qualified as a primary school teacher in 1993 and have worked in several Derbyshire schools, specialising in Literacy and PE. I enjoy tutoring and am passionate about helping individuals to succeed.
I live near to Matlock in Derbyshire and have two children aged 25 and 14. When I am not working I enjoy playing tennis, dancing and skiing.

Tutoring Experience:

In addition to teaching classes in all subjects across the primary age range, I have worked as a one to one tutor on the 'Every child a writer' programme, as a tutor for KS2 SATs, and as a private tutor for children with SEN, including dyspraxia and dyslexia. I also offer a Homework Help service for children up to Key Stage 3, taking the pressure off parents and helping to avoid homework arguments.
I am proud of the success rate of my tutees, particularly in KS2 SATs, and I know the children have been very proud of themselves.

Tutoring Approach:

I adopt a friendly, personalised learning approach to tutoring. I think it is important to get to know the tutee before the first lesson so that sessions can be tailored to the needs and preferred learning styles of each individual. If the tutee feels at ease, then learning will be more enjoyable and effective. I pride myself with the fact that my tutees leave my lessons with smiles on their faces.
I find tutoring extremely rewarding and like to feel that I am making a positive difference.

Qualifications:

  • University of Derby (2009) - MA (Ed) modules in French, Creativity, Learning theories (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Derby (1993) - PGCE Primary (Later Years) (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Birmingham (1990) - 2:2 B Sc (Jt.Hons) PE and Psychology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Matlock Maths tutor, Matlock English tutor, Matlock Primary Maths tutor, Matlock Secondary Maths tutor, Matlock Casual Learner Maths tutor, Matlock Primary English tutor, Matlock Secondary English tutor, Matlock Casual Learner English tutor