Deborah

Leominster Tutor

I am a Secondary School teacher in an International Independent boarding school. Previously I have taught in the State sector. I have a University degree in Ecology and Environmental Management and a PGCE in Science. I am enthusiastic about my subjects and make every effort to pass this on to my students.

Before becoming a teacher I had a variety of other occupations which have given me a good perspective on life outside of the teaching profession.

I have taken on various other responsibilities during my teaching career, such as Debating Club, SEN Department Link, University Liaison and UCAS Advisor.

I am approachable and positive in my outlook.

I am married and have 3 children who all have families of their own and are successful in their chosen careers. My husband is retired.

Tutoring Experience

I have successfully taught the following subjects, with exam students gaining good grades:

Biology, Psychology and Social Science, at A level.
Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Geography, at GCSE/IGCSE
Science, Maths and English at ages 11-14
PSHE - whole school
Learning to Learn at age 13

E.g. Last summer my Biology GCSE group gained As and A*s in their exams.

Tutoring Approach

I treat each student as an individual and adapt my teaching to suit their differing abilities and approach to learning.

I like to establish a friendly atmosphere of positive attitude towards achievement. I am able to develop excellent working relationships with my pupils, a mutual respect developing which helps me provide a stimulating working environment in which pupils work well.

Although serious, my tutor sessions also have an element of fun about them which helps students to feel safe so that they are able to talk openly and are unafraid to make mistakes.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

UWIC, Cardiff2003PGCEPGCE Science
University of Wales2001Bachelors2:1 BSc (Hons) Ecology and Environmental Managment
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Chemistry
GCSE£30
Biology
GCSE£30
Geography
GCSE£30