Information About Debbie - South Queensferry tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Debbie's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Debbie:





Subjects Taught


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00£22.50
GCSE £25.00£22.50
A-Level £25.00£22.50
University £25.00£22.50
Casual Learner £25.00£22.50

Study Skills

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00£22.50
GCSE £25.00£22.50
A-Level £25.00£22.50
University £25.00£22.50
Casual Learner £25.00£22.50

Map Location

Map for Debbie (Dr)


Personal Description:

I am a friendly and experienced tutor with a strong academic background and lots of enthusiasm for teaching. I've worked for the last five years as a freelance tutor supporting students preparing for Standard Grade, National 5, and Higher English, with excellent results. I’ve also worked successfully supporting university students with academic English and for the past year have worked as a Study Skills Tutor at a university in Edinburgh.

I am a graduate of Cambridge University, where I studied English Literature, and I hold a DPhil in Medieval Studies (literature, history and manuscript studies) from the University of York. In addition to tutoring, I'm a trained, working actor. I'm also a published poet, and short scripts which I've written have been performed on stage and on BBC Radio Scotland.

I'm based in Cramond, and am available to tutor school pupils, from my home, on Sundays between around 10 am and 3 pm. I can work with university students during working hours between Monday and Friday, either in Edinburgh city centre or within easy travelling distance of the centre.

Tutoring Experience:

I've worked since 2010 with students preparing for Standard and National 5, and Higher English. I'm familiar with the SQA syllabus and carry out thorough research to support students working with other exam boards as required. Over the past 12 months I have worked with university students requiring support with academic English and general study skills.

I've worked with students who have dyslexia, ADHD, Asperger's Syndrome, and high-functioning autism, and am experienced in supporting these students with strategies to manage the additional challenges they face in their studies.

Tutoring Approach:

I'm an approachable, sympathetic tutor. I try to create an environment in which students can discuss concerns about their studies openly, and build confidence in their own abilities. My first priority, when working with a new student, is to establish their particular needs and learning style, so that I can tailor their learning programme around them. I focus strongly on the core skills required for achieving exam success, in both essay-writing and close-reading, and on study skills which help students to organise and manage their work as they prepare for exams.

I'm passionate about literature, and enjoy transferring this enthusiasm to my students. I have also worked very successfully with students on creative writing tasks. I encourage students to take pleasure in literature, to develop robust critical skills which will benefit them throughout their lives, and to feel self-confident in their ability to develop and articulate their ideas.


  • University of York (1999) - DPhil in Medieval Studies (Doctorate) (✘ Not On File)
  • Downing College, University of Cambridge (1993) - MPhil in Medieval and Renaissance Literature (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Downing College, University of Cambridge (1992) - BA in English Literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: South Queensferry English tutor, South Queensferry Study Skills tutor, South Queensferry Secondary English tutor, South Queensferry GCSE English tutor, South Queensferry A-Level English tutor, South Queensferry University English tutor, South Queensferry Casual Learner English tutor, South Queensferry Secondary Study Skills tutor, South Queensferry GCSE Study Skills tutor, South Queensferry A-Level Study Skills tutor, South Queensferry University Study Skills tutor, South Queensferry Casual Learner Study Skills tutor