Skip to main content

Information About Dayton - Glasgow tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Dayton:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Dayton

Personal Description:

Although originally from the United States, Glasgow became my home nearly twenty years ago. I have a BA in Archaeology, attended Glasgow University as a foreign exchange student, and went on to Masters study in Environmental Science at Strathclyde University. While I was still involved actively in Archaeology, I also lived and worked in some wonderful locations in Mexico and Greece.
My passion for travel and experiencing new places and cultures eventually led to my career in teaching English as a foreign language, which gave me several exciting years living in Ukraine and Malta.
I have now returned home to Scotland with my young family and hope to continue helping others understand and use English.
I love the great outdoors and can often be found climbing both indoors and out!

Tutoring Experience:

I am a highly sought after CELTA qualified teacher of English with over seven years experience teaching: General, Business ESP, EAP, and exam preparation (IELTS, CAE, FCE, etc) to private, corporate, and language school students from elementary to advanced ability.
As a teacher in Ukraine, Malta, and Scotland, I have happily taught students from all over the world and am very sensitive to the specific difficulties in learning English from different linguistic and cultural backgrounds. My student feedback at all of the accredited schools I have taught in has consistently been very good to excellent.
It may also be of interest that three of my former private students were Azerbaijan's entrants to the Eurovision Song Contest. I helped them with their confidence speaking English, their pronunciation, and preparation for interviews in English.

Tutoring Approach:

Everyone is different. Thankfully!
You will have a much easier time learning if you actually enjoy the topic and have fun in the process of learning.
I will carefully assess your language skill needs, discover your interests, learn more about you, and then design the lessons around your specific needs and interests for the most positive results.
Friendly and approachable, professional and punctual, my methods are largely communicative. I find that maintaining a healthy sense of humour creates a positive atmosphere for learning.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German, Greek, Russian, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Cambridge University (2013) - CELTA (Other) (✔ On File)
  • Strathclyde University (2007) - Mdip Environmental Science (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of North Carolina (1993) - BA Archaeology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • University of Glasgow (1990) - One year academic exchange History/Archaeology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Glasgow English (Foreign Language) tutor, Glasgow University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Glasgow Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor