Skip to main content

Information About David - Matlock tutor -
(7 reviews)

Profile Picture

David's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated David:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Sociology

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £20.00£16.00
A-Level £25.00£20.00

Map Location

Map for David (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a recently retired secondary school teacher. Married for 41 years, my wife, also retired, worked as a customer services officer at a local bank. We have two children, a daughter aged 33 and a son of 29. I love all sport with golf and fitness currently my two main interests. In earlier years I played tennis, squash, football and cricket. I have a broad range of taste in music and love reading. We have two cats called Mr Bond and Miss Tabitha.

Tutoring Experience:

I began my career as a PE teacher and became head of department in 1975, before completing an in-service B.ED degree four years later. As a member of staff at a newly formed comprehensive school, I was given a full time secondment at Sheffield University to take a masters degree focusing on sociology and psychology. Following this I began teaching GCSE Sociology and A level Sociology and Psychology. For the last 25 years of my teaching career I was head of Sociology/Psychology at Highfields School in Matlock, Derbyshire where I gained considerable experience of both GCSE and Advanced level teaching. Over a long period of time the grades my students achieved were impressive. I have recently marked both GCSE and A level Sociology for the AQA board.

Since joining First Tutors in January 2015, my tutees have achieved the sociology grades they have needed for degree courses, diplomas or employment.

Tutoring Approach:

I love the subject I teach, which helps enormously when encouraging and motivating students. Whilst I accommodate a range of learning styles, I am committed to teaching both subject content and the skills which examiners are expecting to see. The student's enjoyment of the subject is of considerable importance, but as a tutor my commitment, rigour and organisational skills are of equal importance. I strongly believe in working as a pair, to give each student the best chance of the highest possible grade with university and employment in mind!

Qualifications:

  • SHEFF. UNIVERSITY (1984) - M.ED (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • NOTTS. UNIVERSITY (1979) - B.ED (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Matlock Sociology tutor, Matlock GCSE Sociology tutor, Matlock A-Level Sociology tutor