David

David

Oxford Tutor

I graduated from Oxford University with a Masters in Engineering and have just finished my PhD at Oxford with research in Liquid Crystal Lasers and Holographic Projection. I now work full time as a postdoctoral researcher. I love travelling, climbing mountains, every sport and everything to do with cars! I also play quite a few instruments in my spare time and enjoy gigging whenever I get the chance. I'm friendly and easy to get along with.

Tutoring Experience

I have tutored individuals and small groups from Key Stage 3 to Undergraduate level. I love teaching and have always got involved with teaching/training in the various jobs I have had. I have been tutoring through first tutors for over five years, teaching over 30 students to date.

Tutoring Approach

What most students need is something different from school, something more engaging and more direct. The brain is most effective when it is well stimulated by what it is doing. I get to know my students and develop a rapport that not only helps us enjoy our sessions, but also lowers the barriers to learning. It's good to laugh during a lesson!

I follow the syllabus closely to ensure every topic is covered fully. As a dyslexic I understand how confusing some teaching styles can be; my methods are always clear and direct, usually from a more intuitive perspective. The notes we make during a lesson are emailed to the student in PDF form to use a revision notes in the future - my students have always found this particularly helpful!

I am happy to offer short-term, high-intensity tutoring for last minute exam revision if required. I have taken a number of students through 2-3 weeks of daily two hour tutorials before exams and am well practised in highly efficient learning styles for the last minute crammer!

I can help whether you are struggling with the basic concepts or working hard to make sure you get all the top grades.

I am happy to set up a recurring day and time or organise each tutorial on a weekly basis. I have a public calendar online I keep updated with my available times to help you plan our tutorials into your schedule.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Oxford University2013Masters2:1 MEng Engineering Science
Caerleon Comprehensive2009SchoolA at A Level (Maths)
Caerleon Comprehensive2009SchoolA at A Level (Further Maths)
Caerleon Comprehensive2009SchoolA at A Level (Physics)

David's Feedback

Feedback
14
Published feedback
14
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
David
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£50
Secondary£50
GCSE£50
A-Level£50
Physics
Primary£50
Secondary£50
GCSE£50
A-Level£50