Skip to main content

Information About David - Stirling tutor -
(7 reviews)

Profile Picture

David's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated David:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

David offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for David (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I have recently moved back to Stirling after a long career in the IT industry as a project manager, consultant and software developer and, for a short period after I had retrained, as a mathematics teacher, both in the classroom and as a private tutor. I have two grown-up children and am now semi-retired.

Tutoring Experience:

I have classroom experience of teaching mathematics up to A level (the English equivalent of Higher and Advanced Higher). As a private tutor I’ve mainly worked with A level students eager to improve their grades in Mathematics, Statistics and Mechanics but I’ve also worked with university students (especially those resitting first year exams in mathematics and statistics), with younger students (at GCSE and IGCSE) and with students studying A level Computer Science.

Tutoring Approach:

Every student is unique (I’ve worked with more than forty) and I believe it’s important to tailor tutoring to meet his or her individual needs.

Many students like to focus on exam questions from past papers. The more confident will try to do several of these in their own time, and check their answers against the marking scheme (I can show them how to do this). This means we can use the tutoring session to concentrate on those questions, or parts of questions, that they didn’t understand.

Some students prefer to work through problems in the tutoring session itself. This does mean that I am available to provide instant help and advice but risks delaying the development of their self confidence. In these circumstances I always encourage them to work through some more similar problems before the next session.
Other students may want to focus on a particular topic which they know they do not thoroughly understand. Sometimes this can be part of elementary mathematics which they have never properly understood (for example the addition of fractions). In this case I can combine explanation with a series of graduated problems to try during and after the tutoring session.

I usually tutor students in their own homes. This usually fits in better with the complex and demanding timetables of families, and most students find this less disruptive.

Qualifications:

  • Manchester University (2011) - Secondary Mathematics (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Open University (1999) - MBA (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Edinburgh University (1975) - 1 BSc Computer Science (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Stirling Maths tutor, Stirling GCSE Maths tutor, Stirling A-Level Maths tutor, Stirling University Maths tutor, Stirling Casual Learner Maths tutor