Skip to main content

Information About David - Stoke-on-Trent tutor -
(4 reviews)

Profile Picture

David's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated David:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for David (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am fifty-six years old, married with two children aged 25 and 23, both of whom have graduated from university and who now work in the medical profession… It was my original intention to become a teacher of Mathematics but, having completed my training, I decided that I would like to experience the world outside academia before returning to the profession. I have since spent over thirty years in industry, currently heading the Quality Assurance and Technical Department at the company where I am employed.
Outside work I enjoy an wide range of pastimes and activities such as playing football, walking, gardening and raising funds for the local church and for national charities.
Until my own children left for university, there was insufficient time in my schedule for me to consider tuition on anything more than an occasional basis. Since the children are now both independent in many ways, however, it has been possible for me to make the move towards a career in the subject that I studied for my degree and for which I have always had real enthusiasm. I have now been tutoring for four years, primarily at AS and A level and thoroughly enjoy it. In addition to offering assistance to tutees who are in education, I have also taught the entire AS and A level Maths syllabus to pupils not taking the subject at school or college. During the last year I have also tutored to degree level.

Tutoring Experience:

Although I attained the PGCE in 1980 and enjoyed my teaching experience at Clough Hall Comprehensive School in Kidsgrove I did not enter the teaching profession, preferring instead to work in local industry where I have remained since. I do, however, hold fully qualified teacher status (QTS); my teacher reference number is **Telephone Number Removed** Our children both studied Mathematics to A level, one following the Maths and Statistics route and the other Maths and Mechanics; I have - through helping them along the way - kept up to speed with the requirements of the curriculum at each step of their education.
In addition I have, on an unpaid basis, provided tuition to the children of friends and relations.
I am, through extensive preparation prior tutoring GCSE, AS and A level over the last six years, completely familiar with the requirements of each level of the subject.

Tutoring Approach:

I use a flexible approach in which I develop a programme of topics to mirror what is being taught in class but with the option to amend this, even with little or no notice, to spend more time on problem areas.
I believe in reinforcing the underlying principles through multiple examples, initially worked through as shared problems before asking the student to provide solutions - with assistance if necessary - and, finally, setting questions to be completed outside the tuition period. Through this method, I aim to increase a student's confidence in their own ability. I am also prepared to offer free advice over the internet or phone in the intervening period, if required.

Qualifications:

  • University of Keele (1980) - PGCE (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of North Wales, Bangor (1979) - BSc Honours Degree in Mathematics (1979, UCNW Bangor); PGCE (1980, Keele University) (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Stoke-on-Trent Maths tutor, Stoke-on-Trent Secondary Maths tutor, Stoke-on-Trent GCSE Maths tutor, Stoke-on-Trent A-Level Maths tutor, Stoke-on-Trent Casual Learner Maths tutor