David

Home Tuition for English (Foreign Language) in North Ferriby

My name is David. I am married with two grown up children and I have been teaching English as a foreign language for 15 years.
I work part time now, mainly from home. In my spare time I enjoy foreign travel and meeting people from different countries and cultures.

Tutoring Experience

For many years I taught English as a foreign language from elementary to advanced levels at a local college of further education. For the last 5 years I have taught independently, mostly on a one to one basis with adult learners, mainly at intermediate to advanced levels. Some of my students are preparing for tests e.g. IELTS while others are mainly looking to boost their English skills and confidence. During the summer months I also accept students at my house for a week or fortnight at a time for intensive English language learning.

Tutoring Approach

I try to focus on a language learner's needs and I use a wide range of materials at my disposal. If I am working with a learner over an extended period of time, then I like to use a course book designed for adult learners at a level appropriate to the learner, together with supplementary materials as the need arises.
I like to help learners to monitor their progress and to help them study effectively and independently outside the lessons. Ultimately, I like learners to see results from their efforts and to help them gain in confidence with their English language use.

LanguagesEnglish (British), French
AvailabilityWeekdays (daytime)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Trinity College London2002CollegeTEFL
Sheffield Hallam University2007MastersPost Grad Certificate TEFL
Sheffield Hallam University2008MastersPost Grad Diploma TEFL
Sheffield Hallam University2009MastersMasters Degree TEFL
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism