Skip to main content

Information About Dave - Bath tutor -

Profile Picture

Dave's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Dave:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Dave offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £45.00
A-Level £45.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £45.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £45.00
13 Plus £45.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I love to teach and help out young people, be they stressed out teenagers at their wit's end with exams looming, bright sparks who need stretching, or school refusers who hate the very idea of picking up a book. When not tutoring I enjoy writing about politics and philosophy, cooking, reading and cruising slowly down the canal on my lovely boat.

Tutoring Experience:

I was a teacher for five years, from 2011 to 2016, with experience in both state and independent schools, finishing in the role of Assistant Head of Sixth Form. I am highly familiar with the new specifications at both GCSE and A Level, having prepared extensive resources for my Department in preparation for the changeover. I have also attended exam-board seminars and taught and tutored the new specifications. I have been trained in teaching students with dyslexia and other specific needs, and currently tutor an autistic child.

Tutoring Approach:

Every student is different, and a good teacher will always be responsive. In my experience, the barriers to progress are only ever partially to do with technical ability: personal and emotional factors can be just as important, especially in a subject like English. For example, a hard-working student who is not making progress may need to learn how to overcome perfectionism, while a disengaged student may need to know that they are truly listened to and respected before they can build a healthier relationship with their work.
That said, a few things never change: I am naturally enthusiastic, warm and friendly, and always put my students at ease. I am also expert at breaking complex tasks and ideas down into simple pieces, especially where exam technique is concerned. Finally, I always look for ways to inspire genuine curiosity and love of reading, writing and learning in general, by paying genuine attention to the likes, dislikes, aptitudes and difficulties of each individual student.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Havering Teacher Training Partnership (2012) - GTP (QTS) (✔ On File)
  • London School of Economics (2011) - MSc in Politics and Communication (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Cambridge University (2006) - MA (Cantab) in English (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Bath English tutor, Bath Entrance Exams tutor, Bath Secondary English tutor, Bath GCSE English tutor, Bath A-Level English tutor, Bath University English tutor, Bath Casual Learner English tutor, Bath Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Bath Secondary Entrance Exams tutor