Skip to main content

Information About Darshni - Barnsbury tutor -

Profile Picture

Darshni's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Darshni:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £45.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi! I'm currently a final year Medical Student studying at UCL.

Integrated BSc: Orthopaedic Sciences: 2:1

A-levels: Biology (A), Chemistry (A), Geography (A), Mathematics (A).
Extended Project Qualification (A).
GCSEs: 10 A*, 1 A (AS Science in Society).

Outside of academia, I am a keen sportswoman, currently playing for RUMS Netball 1st team. I have also coached students ranging from 7-18 years in netball, volleyball and rounders and worked on sports camps during my summer holidays.

I have a good background in tutoring and coaching and I am keen to pursue this further during my time at university. Teaching is incredibly rewarding for me. My aim with all my sessions is to share my passion to hopefully engage, enthuse and stretch my students.

*Please note, due to the nature of my final year, I am currently offering online tuition only*

Tutoring Experience:

I have had experience teaching in varying roles since school, where I mentored younger students in Chemistry, Biology and Geography. I also coached younger sports teams, particularly in netball. In my second year at university, I was a Transition Mentor for incoming first years. This involved organising weekly tutoring sessions for a group of 10 students, which covered the most difficult lecture topics from the previous week. I was also a pastoral point-of-call for any issues which arose as they settled into their new environment. I have also worked for a local Medicine admissions company who run mock interviews and personal statement workshops for Year 11 and 12 students, creating practice questions and mock interviews to help prepare students for their applications.

Tutoring Approach:

For me, it is vital to support a student at the level they require and ensure that they are comfortable to progress at their own pace. I will use my strong organisational skills to develop personalised plans to provide a framework for each session. I believe in helping students to first understand foundational concepts which can subsequently be applied to any question or problem, regardless of the difficulty. I use a variety of teaching techniques, from visual to oral to scenario-based. I encourage students to ask questions and be as inquisitive as they can. Following each session, I will summarise the content which has been covered and leave a series of tasks of questions, as appropriate. This will allow material to be consolidated and can be reviewed at the beginning of the next session.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • UCL (2016) - Orthopaedic Science iBSc (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Parkstone Grammar School (2012) - Biology (A) (School) (✔ On File)
  • Parkstone Grammar School (2012) - Chemistry (A) (School) (✔ On File)
  • Parkstone Grammar School (2012) - Mathematics (A) (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Barnsbury Maths tutor, Barnsbury Chemistry tutor, Barnsbury Biology tutor, Barnsbury Primary Maths tutor, Barnsbury Primary Chemistry tutor, Barnsbury Secondary Chemistry tutor, Barnsbury GCSE Chemistry tutor, Barnsbury Primary Biology tutor, Barnsbury Secondary Biology tutor, Barnsbury GCSE Biology tutor, Barnsbury A-Level Biology tutor