Skip to main content

Information About Darren - Trowbridge tutor -

Profile Picture

Darren's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Darren:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

Combined Science

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

History

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £25.00

Map Location

Map for Darren

Personal Description:

I am 42, married and live in Trowbridge with my wife Catherine and my 12 year old daughter Caitlyn. I love music and play guitar, bass and ukulele (just for fun - although I'd happily give introduction lessons!). I build instruments too, and have a website and trade stand to sell my creations. I enjoy reading and occasional watercolour painting/sketching. I like eating pizza, prefer ale to wine and my favourite colour is yellow.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a class teacher and subject leader in primary schools in West Wiltshire for eight years. For the past 6 years I have been supply teaching (by choice) and have been tutoring for six years. I have enjoyed working with Key Stage Two pupils, providing children with stimulating and engaging teaching which has given them an enjoyable and varied learning experience. I have taught a range of abilities, from Special Educational Needs pupils to children on the Able Gifted and Talented register. I have experience of children who are either under or over confident, children who have disengaged with their learning and pupils who speak English as a second language. I am confident preparing children for their year 6 SATs tests, optional SATs at year 4 and 5 and 11+ entrance examinations.

Tutoring Approach:

An important part of my role as a teacher is that I can develop a child’s self-esteem and confidence. I am patient with pupils and provide a safe and supportive learning atmosphere where pupils feel encouraged to make mistakes and ask questions. I consider children’s skills and learning styles and tailor my teaching appropriately. If a pupil is struggling with one teaching approach I am will try another. It is important for a teacher to know where their pupil is, academically speaking. I am familiar with a range of assessments used for assessment for learning. I feel that it is also really important that my learners know how they are doing, so I supply constructive feedback which praises and scaffolds the next steps to learning and includes the learner in their own progress. Many of my pupils, colleagues and parents describe me as kind, friendly and enthusiastic. I have a good rapport with children and have often received compliments and thanks from pupils and parents alike. Throughout my professional career I have maintained good relationships with parents and carers. I will ensure that you are included with regard to progress, next steps and as part of your child's learning experiences.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Bath Spa University College (2003) - PGCE 7-11 (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Essex (1998) - BA (Hons) Philosophy 2:1 (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Frome College (1992) - A-Levels (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Frome College (1990) - GCSEs (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Trowbridge Maths tutor, Trowbridge English tutor, Trowbridge Combined Science tutor, Trowbridge History tutor, Trowbridge Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Trowbridge Entrance Exams tutor, Trowbridge Primary Maths tutor, Trowbridge Primary English tutor, Trowbridge Primary Combined Science tutor, Trowbridge Primary History tutor, Trowbridge Primary Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Trowbridge Primary Entrance Exams tutor