Information About Danielle - Birmingham tutor

Profile Picture

Danielle's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Danielle:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00

Media / Communication Studies

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00

Map Location

Map for Danielle (Miss)


Personal Description:

I have worked within the education sector for the past six years and I am currently in my fourth year of teaching as a qualified teacher. I am a graduate of English and History (joint honours) from the University of Birmingham. I achieved a 2:1 alongside completing unpaid internships (Marketing and PR) and several different short term jobs. I am passionate about English Literature and thoroughly enjoy teaching English to my students. I have spent the last four years at an Outstanding School in Solihull, and have previously worked within the Comprehensive and Grammar school system in Buckinghamshire.

I now work in Coleshill as Literacy Coordinator.

Prior to pursuing teaching, I explored the world of marketing but after securing a Learning Support Assistant role I knew that teaching was for me! I enjoy music (I played classical piano for most of my childhood), travelling, literature/film, textiles and when I can, I am trying to gain more experience scuba diving and snowboarding. At my current school I also teach Media and Film Studies as a complimentary subject.

I am currently year 9 coordinator, working alongside the KS3 coordinator to ensure our curriculum meets the new specification changes.

Tutoring Experience:

Four years at an Outstanding School in Solihull as a Teacher of English (with some Media and Film Studies). I have taught GCSE English Language and Literature (AQA), AS English Literature (AQA) and A2 English Literature (AQA). I also teach Media Studies at GCSE (AQA) and GCSE Film Studies (WJEC).

1 year (training) at one Comprehensive school and one Grammar school in Buckinghamshire.

1 year working as a Learning Support Assistant in a Secondary School in Buckinghamshire. Here, I worked within the classroom as a TA but also independently with small groups working on Literacy skills.

I have also marked GCSE papers for AQA for the last two years which I have found immensely illuminating and therefore use this knowledge of marking to help shape my teaching. I will be marking this year as well.

Tutoring Approach:

I have experience of teaching classes with sizes of 13 up to 32 but also of working 1:1 with students with varying needs. I think flexibility is key to ensuring that not only is a good working relationship established but also that progress is made quickly and sustained across a period of time.


  • Oxford Brookes (2012) - Secondary English (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Birmingham (2010) - English and History (JH) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Wycombe High Sixth Form (2007) - A A B (English, Textiles, History) A2 (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Wycombe High School (2005) - 10 1/2 GCSEs (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Birmingham English tutor, Birmingham Media / Communication Studies tutor, Birmingham Secondary English tutor, Birmingham GCSE English tutor, Birmingham GCSE Media / Communication Studies tutor