Skip to main content

Information About Daniel - Hackney tutor

Profile Picture

Daniel's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Daniel:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

French

Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £35.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Philosophy / Critical Thinking

Hourly Rate
A-Level £45.00
University £45.00
Casual Learner £45.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am an experienced tutor in French and Philosophy with an undergraduate degree from Oxford and a PhD.
I have recently finished a PhD in political philosophy at UCL (passed with no corrections).
Before the PhD, I studied for an MPhil in philosophy also at UCL, and for a BA in Philosophy, Politics and Economics at Oxford.

I spent some time living in Marseille, France teaching English to teenagers (in the French state school system, as well as in private tuition) and it is thanks to this that I developed an interest in tutoring French. I speak fluent French.

I have extensive teaching experience in various forms (detailed below). This includes experience of private tuition, of French and English as well as philosophy, and also of teaching state secondary school classes, and university seminars. Working together with students to reach some learning goal is something I enjoy, and I seek to make learning an enjoyable and rewarding experience.

Tutoring Experience:

I taught English to adults in Oxford as part of a voluntary scheme to give free English lessons to non-English speaking migrants in the area.
I taught English to a class of about 30 teenagers for 5 weeks in Niger as a volunteer.
I worked for 7 months as an English language teaching assistant (teaching groups of upto 15 on my own) in the French state school system, with students of all ages between 11 and 18.
I gave private English tuition in Marseille to individuals - both teenagers and adults.
I have given private tuition in England in both French and Philosophy, at both beginners and advanced levels and to A-level students and adult learners.
I have taught seminars and tutorials to undergraduate students studying philosophy at University College London, King`s College London and Exeter College, Oxford, at all different undergraduate levels in a variety of topics in moral and political philosophy. (I have taught many different courses over a period of four years.)

Tutoring Approach:

I have extensive experience of teaching and tutoring students of varying ability in very different contexts, and so am flexible and able to adapt to the needs and strengths of individual students. I am prepared to tailor my teaching to your needs and preferences. For instance, I can design a course to introduce a student to a subject, or I can teach lessons responding to particular problems a student is having (for example, with schoolwork).
In general, I find that the best way to teach tends to involve helping a student to practice and thereby gain confidence (in speaking a language/using a concept … ). So I tend to prioritise enabling my students to learn actively and providing support in doing so.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University College London (2018) - PhD Philosophy (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • University College London (2014) - MPhil Philosophy (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Oxford (2011) - BA Philosophy, Politics and Economics, First Class (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Saint Olave's Grammar School (2008) - A-grade A-levels in French, History and Economics (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Hackney French tutor, Hackney Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Hackney Secondary French tutor, Hackney GCSE French tutor, Hackney A-Level French tutor, Hackney Casual Learner French tutor, Hackney A-Level Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Hackney University Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Hackney Casual Learner Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor