Skip to main content

Information About Daisey - Lewisham tutor

Profile Picture

Daisey's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Daisey:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00

German

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £45.00
A-Level £45.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Latin

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £45.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Greek (Ancient)

Hourly Rate
Secondary £45.00
GCSE £45.00
A-Level £45.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Classical Civilisation

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am an articulate, engaging Cambridge graduate with a strong academic record and lots of tips and tricks to impart to students of all ages!

My particular strengths include creative and critical thinking, literary analysis, a logical mind and a sophisticated writing style - all of which makes me sound rather dry, but really I am just a wordy, friendly and funny Classicist who likes grammar, stories and puzzles. I can be relied upon to turn up on time and ready for anything. I enjoy spending time with young people and working out the best ways to help them achieve their goals.

I do have high standards, but that's just because I care!

Previous credits include acting in a German language production of Der Reigen, designing costumes a Roman tragedy about the death of Cicero and Company Stage Manager for the 2016 Cambridge Greek Play. I also do freelance admin work for a poetry performance charity, occasionally script supervise for short films in Ancient Greek and bake.

Tutoring Experience:

Even though they say never to work with children and animals, I spent over ten years working at a riding stables, where I taught horse care and riding to all ages in all weathers. As such I am used to sharing and explaining specialised knowledge to a wide age range in a fun and accessible manner, and adapting my teaching style to individuals and challenging circumstances.

During school I also tutored GCSE Latin, at the request of the head of department, and supported the Junior UKMT Maths Challenge team. In sixth form, I set up and ran a lunchtime German club for lower-school students; my aim was to encourage the adoption of the language at GCSE, through games, exercises and multimedia. I produced my own notes and materials for the club.

Tutoring Approach:

I will respect learners' different styles, personalities and preferences, working together with them to establish clear goals and an approach to the subject that is tailored to what they want and need, whether that is specific content or general skills and understanding.

In essay subjects, I will encourage them to explore their own ideas, incorporate these into the framework laid out by the exam boards and express them in clear and correct written language.

In maths and languages, I will focus on cementing basic components, taking time to breakdown and explain problem areas and build confidence, all with patience, understanding and a smile!

Above all, I will use my creativity, imagination and experience to make sure learners get to enjoy their subject and experience the satisfaction of excelling at it.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Cambridge (2016) - BA Hons in Classics (2.i) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Rugby High School for Girls (2013) - AS Level in Classical Civilisation (A) (School) (✔ On File)
  • Rugby High School for Girls (2012) - A Levels in Further Maths (A*), Latin, (A) and German (School) (✔ On File)
  • Rugby High School for Girls (2011) - AS Level in English Literature (A) (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Lewisham English tutor, Lewisham German tutor, Lewisham Latin tutor, Lewisham Greek (Ancient) tutor, Lewisham Classical Civilisation tutor, Lewisham Secondary English tutor, Lewisham GCSE English tutor, Lewisham A-Level English tutor, Lewisham Primary German tutor, Lewisham Secondary German tutor, Lewisham GCSE German tutor, Lewisham A-Level German tutor, Lewisham Casual Learner German tutor, Lewisham Primary Latin tutor, Lewisham Secondary Latin tutor, Lewisham GCSE Latin tutor, Lewisham A-Level Latin tutor, Lewisham University Latin tutor, Lewisham Casual Learner Latin tutor, Lewisham Secondary Greek (Ancient) tutor, Lewisham GCSE Greek (Ancient) tutor, Lewisham A-Level Greek (Ancient) tutor, Lewisham Casual Learner Greek (Ancient) tutor, Lewisham GCSE Classical Civilisation tutor, Lewisham A-Level Classical Civilisation tutor, Lewisham Casual Learner Classical Civilisation tutor