Skip to main content

Information About Dee - Daventry tutor -
(6 reviews)

References

This is how 2 referees rated Dee:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £24.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Religious Studies

Hourly Rate
Primary £24.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £24.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £26.00
A-Level £26.00
University £28.00
Casual Learner £26.00

Map Location

Map for Dee (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I trained as a teacher in the 1970s ,to teach RE and English, then qualified in ESOL and taught English as a foreign language for a time, before entering the Civil Service. After bringing up my family, I returned to part time work tutoring 12 years ago. I am married with three children.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a self-employed tutor for 12 years. My pupils have included primary and secondary age children, from Year 3 upwards, for general support or to help them taking SATS, CAT tests, 11 plus verbal reasoning, GCSE and A levels, or just general back up help to gain confidence. This has included children who are speakers of other languages. I have had dyslexia awareness training and though not specialist trained, have helped some children with a level of dyslexia. I have tutored adults in both Literacy and ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages). I have taught adult literacy as a temporary supply teacher in a prison, and currently regularly work in Skills for Life and Functional Skills workplace learning, literacy and ESOL for adults, delivering short courses as required.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a very friendly, sympathetic approach. I assess pupils' strengths and weaknesses, and tailor my approach very flexibly to individual needs, giving whatever support is required. I aim to give children confidence and increased skills, and have helped several children who have for some reason missed some school. I have helped several exam entrants with parts of the Literature course they find difficult, and to achieve higher results at GCSE, and A level. I have helped adults with literacy skills such as writing letters or reports for their jobs, or any other areas which need improvement. I always treat my pupils as individuals and tailor my tuition to their needs. I provide extra support and practice for learners who are being entered for exams through school or other agencies etc. I have also tutored RE GCSE pupils.
For speakers of other languages, I offer full grammar tuition or conversation only if requested.
If I come to you, I will have to charge a small amount for travel costs on top of my quoted rates, between £1 and £5 depending on distance. I can tutor in the daytime if you are not at work, or work shifts. I AM AVAILABLE TO TEACH ON SKYPE - THIS IS GOOD FOR ESOL CONVERSATION, AND I HAVE TIME IN THE DAY TO FIT IN WITH SHIFTS.

Qualifications:

  • IfL (2012) - QTLS (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • International House, Cambridge (1977) - Cert EFL (English as a Foreign Language) (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Cambridge University (1977) - Cert Ed Secondary, RE and English (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • LST (1976) - BA (Hons) Theol (College) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Cantonese
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Daventry English tutor, Daventry Religious Studies tutor, Daventry English (Foreign Language) tutor, Daventry Primary English tutor, Daventry Secondary English tutor, Daventry GCSE English tutor, Daventry A-Level English tutor, Daventry Casual Learner English tutor, Daventry Primary Religious Studies tutor, Daventry Secondary Religious Studies tutor, Daventry GCSE Religious Studies tutor, Daventry A-Level Religious Studies tutor, Daventry Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Daventry Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Daventry GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Daventry A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Daventry University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Daventry Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor