Information About Cristian - Canonbury tutor

Profile Picture

Cristian's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Cristian:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Map for Cristian (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a research fellow with a PhD in manuscript studies from King's College London. I am fluent in French having graduated magna cum laude from the Universit de Lorraine in France with a B.A in History. Then I was awarded an M.A in Medieval history from Kings College London.

Before moving to London, I lived for five years in Luxembourg, worked for the BBC as a magazine editor and studied for a term in Krakow on an ERASMUS scholarship.

Tutoring Experience:

I have gained teaching experience from tutoring English to French students while in Metz, France. I have also worked with orphans in Romania and helped children with their homework, which gave me much satisfaction and a new perspective on teaching. I thus learned to be patient and flexible while making sure the expected result becomes real.

I also gave a short series of lectures in palaeography at the Romanian embassy in Luxembourg.

From September 2012 I shall be teaching undergraduate classes at King's College London.

Tutoring Approach:

Having stockpiled experience from all the countries and cultures in which I studied, I aim to have a very flexible approach to teaching, though not willing to compromise on quality and expectations. I bring along a vast depository of information and theoretical knowledge and most of all, in teaching French or Latin, I can make learning a very pleasant experience by exploring relationships of these two languages with the other Romance offshoots. I have a passion for etymology and linguistic anecdote so learning or mastering a language is bound to be both fulfilling and exciting.

As languages do not evolve independent of literature, I am prepared to offer insights into both classical Latin and French literature as well as the evolution of these languages across centuries, for those who expect even more from the study of Latin or French.

I am demanding and rigorous but fun to work with and understanding. I cannot promise to get you where you want, but what I can promise is that I won't stop until you're there.


  • King's College London (2011) - Merit (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Université de Lorraine - France (2010) - Magna Cum Laude (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: Romanian
Additional Languages: English (British), French, Italian, Latin
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Canonbury French tutor, Canonbury Latin tutor, Canonbury Primary French tutor, Canonbury Secondary French tutor, Canonbury GCSE French tutor, Canonbury A-Level French tutor, Canonbury University French tutor, Canonbury Casual Learner French tutor, Canonbury Primary Latin tutor, Canonbury Secondary Latin tutor, Canonbury GCSE Latin tutor, Canonbury A-Level Latin tutor, Canonbury Casual Learner Latin tutor