Information About Conor - Belfast tutor

Profile Picture

Conor's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Conor:





Subjects Taught

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £25.00

Map Location

Map for Conor (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a hardworking and dedicated individual who approaches every opportunity with 100% enthusiasm. I am a newly qualified primary school teacher graduating from Northumbria University specialising in the 5-11 age range.

I graduated from St Mary's University College Belfast in 2014 with a 2:1 BA Honours In Liberal Arts with Religious Studies.

Aside from all the formal stuff, I am a First Dan Black Belt in Ju Jitsu and help assist the lead coach in teaching children the basis of martial arts. This opportunity has allowed me to develop my bond with children whilst also building upon their confidence levels. This is a rewarding experience as it has afforded me the chance to see children progress socially and physically.

Tutoring Experience:

Throughout my years in my initial degree In my various placements , I acted as a student support assistant to the class teacher I was placed with. These opportunities afforded me the chance to work with children from various academic abilities which progressed my awareness on how to cater to the needs of a range of children.

I also tutored in my universities writing centre in which students would book into the writing centre and ask for guidance and support. This role involved months training and I always received positive feedback from the reviews filled in by my tutees.

Throughout my PGCE degree , I was placed within both KS1 and KS2. This allowed me to teach children of different age groups and gain an awareness of how a child progresses throughout their school life. In two of my placement blocks, I was placed within a transfer class which greatly allowed me to gain an insight on the nature of the transfer test and how to cater to the needs of children who were undertaking the test.

Throughout the summer of 2015 , I involved myself within a summer scheme solely focussing on helping children succeed in the transfer test. This was a great experience as it allowed me the opportunity to work with children who may lack confidence and help them build up on their skills. This involved working with the GL and AQE transfer tests.

From this experience, I furthered my interest in tutoring transfer through one on one sessions. I also tutor booster sessions in order to help students build upon their confidence.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a young , enthusiastic and approachable tutor who aims to make students feel at ease. I believe children learn most efficiently when they are relaxed and receive encouragement and support. I firmly believe tutoring should be a joint collaboration between the tutor and the tutee. It is not a one sided process. I like to let parents/guardians know what is happening and keep them updated on their child's progress. I also like to reflect and monitor students needs and cater my approach to them. I like to keep my sessions straightforward and relaxed whilst at the same time making it educational and ensuring progression will occur.

I find tutoring a very rewarding experience as I love to see children build upon their confidence levels and enjoy progressing in their education.


  • Northumbria University. (2015) - Qualified Teacher Status 5-11 Primary (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • St Mary's University College Belfast. (2014) - BA Honours 2:1 , Liberal Arts with Religious Studies (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Belfast Entrance Exams tutor, Belfast Primary Entrance Exams tutor