Colleen

Colleen

Etchingham Tutor

I am female, aged 61 and married with two sons recently graduated from university. I am a reliable and punctual person . I am friendly and good natured and have a good sense of humour. I love reading, singing, travel and amateur dramatics.
I can offer tuition in the Easter and Summer holidays and I am happy to travel to your house to tutor within certain distances.

Tutoring Experience

I have been teaching full time in the primary classroom for over thirty years.I began my career in London and then moved to East Sussex. I have been an English and, most recently, Mathematics coordinator in a primary school. I have been a deputy head for ten years and have dealt with a wide range of learning problems.I now do supply teaching in a number of schools, so I am up to date with current teaching methods. I have now been successfully tutoring Maths and English for 5 years to children from age five to eleven. Two of my year 6 children achieved level 5 in their SATS tests last year.

Tutoring Approach

I can offer a number of benefits for your child, including raising levels of school performance, but also helping them to increase their confidence, enjoyment and motivation in a subject.
I can use my knowledge of your child’s personal learning style along with nationally recognised assessment of their attainment.
I like to meet you and your child before we begin lessons, this gives us the opportunity to get to know one another and I can bring along my qualifications and up to date DBS check
My approach is friendly and supportive. I will listen to you and your child to ensure we work together on your child's particular needs. I will teach in a style suitable for your child's needs and will include games, practise and focusing on problem areas
I can offer regular one to one tuition weekly or provide a boost in learning in school holidays.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of London1979BachelorsB.Ed hons
University of London1978BachelorsB.Ed ord

Colleen's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Colleen
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
First lesson is free!
Maths
Primary£25
English
Primary£25