Skip to main content

Information About Colin - Egremont tutor

Profile Picture

Colin's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Colin:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £20.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £25.00

Media / Communication Studies

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

After working in the insurance industry for nearly 11 years I took the bold step of changing careers by becoming a teacher. This has given me a very personalised outlook on the importance of education. I can relate to the kinds of pressures that children are under and the willingness of parents wanting the best education possible for their children.

I have one daughter who has been used as a guinea pig for almost my entire teaching career, practicing lessons, talking through ideas and offering 'helpful' suggestions as to how to make my lessons more interesting.

Based in Egremont I am willing to travel up to Whitehaven and the surrounding area. If your not sure whether you are too far away then contact me so we can discuss.

Although I am mainly a primary school teacher I am also able to offer support for adult education in English and Maths and IT/Computing. Please get in touch and we can discuss any requirements you might have.

Tutoring Experience:

I am an experienced teacher having worked in a primary school in Whitehaven for two years. I am now a supply teacher covering the West Coast of Cumbria and Carlisle.

Prior to relocating to Cumbria I worked as a supply teacher in Greater Manchester. My longest contract was as a 1 to 1 intervention teacher at a school in Manchester. This role involved the design and implementation of a sequence of lessons to support various Key Stage 2 children in reaching their individual targets in literary and/or numeracy. This also involved working with the class teachers to ensure that children’s individual learning needs were met. Feedback from this contract was very positive with many children showing an improvement in their understanding of literacy and/or numeracy as well as an increased confidence in the subject.

I also have experience of teaching those with an additional education need. I have worked as a one to one support assistant for a child in year 4 as well as planning and teaching of children with a wide range of learning needs including auditory dyslexia and children on the autistic spectrum.

More recently I have been a full time teacher working in Year 2 at a school in Whitehaven and have experience of delivering and assessing the Year 2 (KS1) SATS.

With regards adult education- I have run a number of training courses for adults during my previous career in the insurance industry. These include running workshops for colleagues in improving their skills with Microsoft Word, Excel and Access database. I am able to offer either informal lessons on improving IT skills or help you work towards a formal qualification, for example ECDL.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring depends on the person being tutored. From experience not everyone learns in the same way so what works for one person might not work for someone else therefore I am flexible in my approach and work hard to ensure that the teaching style matches the learning style.

The first session will be an assessment lesson by finding out what the particular issues are and what would be the best approach going forward. For example there are many aspects of maths including time, money, number work, data handing and space and shape. Most people will be good at least one of these areas so any future sessions would concentrate on the areas for development. For this session I would only charge £15 rather than the full £20 per hour.

Once I have a better understanding of the issues I will then devise a series of lessons which will help support your individual learning style.

Teaching methods would include a mixture of practical activities, on-line resources (if available) and written work as required in order for the person being tutored to improve their subject understanding. I have a large number of resources which I can use for any particular area of literacy and numeracy.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Manchester Metropolitan University, Crewe (2011) - Primary Education (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Manchester University (1998) - Media and Culture (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Edgehill University College, Lancaster University (1997) - Communication Studies with English (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Egremont Maths tutor, Egremont English tutor, Egremont Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Egremont Entrance Exams tutor, Egremont Media / Communication Studies tutor, Egremont Primary Maths tutor, Egremont Casual Learner Maths tutor, Egremont Primary English tutor, Egremont Casual Learner English tutor, Egremont Casual Learner Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Egremont Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Egremont Casual Learner Media / Communication Studies tutor