Skip to main content

Information About Clare - Shrewsbury tutor

Profile Picture

Clare's profile picture

References

This is how 6 referees rated Clare:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Clare (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I live in Shrewsbury and am mum to two little boys. Many years ago I read Mathematics at Cardiff University and followed this with a Postgraduate Certificate in Education at the University of Cambridge (Homerton College). My first career was as a statistician with the MoD and NATO before I relocated to Shropshire to be closer to family. I've been living in the area and teaching ever since.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching in Telford and Wrekin since 2004. I have spent 10 years teaching between two different secondary schools and 2 years at a junior school (year 6). I am currently working part time at a large Telford secondary school teaching students who have Pupil Premium Grants. I also have spent a couple of summers running summer schools and also run intensive revision courses for GCSE students.

Tutoring Approach:

The same approach doesn't work with every student. It's key to get to know strengths as well as weaknesses, and to focus on understanding as much as possible. I use a variety of different sources from worksheets, to exam questions and past papers (SATs and GCSE). Students can have homework set in addition to the tutoring. I am also happy for their school maths teachers to email me.

Qualifications:

  • Univserity of Cambridge (1998) - Middle school (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Cardiff University (1997) - BSc Maths (2:1) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Shrewsbury Maths tutor, Shrewsbury Primary Maths tutor, Shrewsbury Secondary Maths tutor, Shrewsbury GCSE Maths tutor, Shrewsbury Casual Learner Maths tutor