Skip to main content

Information About Clare - Salisbury tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Clare's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Clare:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £36.00

Map Location

Map for Clare (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I moved from London in 2008, where I worked as a successful private tutor for some 12 years. In London my tutees came from many different backgrounds, with different levels of ability, and most of my students came to me by recommendation from previous students, some of whom I taught from year 8 until A level.
I am a qualified teacher and have taught students from the age of 12 to Adult. I specialise in GCSE teaching, but have also helped students with preparation for 13+ entrance exams, scholarship exams, Oxbridge exams and interviews, and A level English Lit and Lang. I have an up to date enhanced CRB certificate which I can produce at the first lesson.

Tutoring Experience:

I have worked in a number of schools and Further Education colleges in London, Essex and most recently Salisbury, where I have been living since 2008. I have taught English GCSE, A level (language and literature and lang/lit courses) and communication courses to non-specialists - both 16-18 and adult. I have now been tutoring one-to-one for over 14 years, and I have also worked as a GCSE examiner on a regular basis with one of the major exam boards for the past 12 years.

Tutoring Approach:

Through a "co-operative" approach, I have been able to help most of my students develop the skills and confidence they need to do themselves justice in exams, many of them exceeding their own expectations. Students enjoy their lessons, as they are able to ask questions, work at their own pace, and express their own personalities in a safe and supportive environment. As well as a love for the subject and for teaching teenagers and adults, I also have a wealth of experience of the examination system, so am able to clarify and focus on exactly what is required to achieve the best grades.

Qualifications:

  • University of Greenwich (1994) - PGCE (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • URI, USA (1984) - MA English (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of East Anglia (1981) - BA (Hons) English (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Salisbury English tutor, Salisbury Secondary English tutor, Salisbury GCSE English tutor, Salisbury A-Level English tutor