Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Clare

Clare

I am a full-time professional tutor, current biology examiner, ex-University lecturer in Pharmacy and the immediate past Vice-President of The Tutors' Association.

I hold a PhD from Imperial College London. have a strong academic track record and have led cutting-edge research teams in projects for multinational pharmaceutical and biotech companies including Unilever, GlaxoSmithKline, Zeneca, Novartis and others. I have published scientific research which has been cited over 2200 times in the peer-reviewed literature and I serve on the Editorial Boards of four reputable international scientific journals. I am fascinated by science and maths and I believe my genuine enthusiasm for the fields, combined with my working knowledge, based on years as an active researcher, is evident in my teaching.

I enjoy working with students of varying ages and abilities and take pride in encouraging students to reach their full potential. I am patient and understanding in my approach, which I will adapt to meet the strengths and needs of individual learners.

I have years of experience as a tenured university lecturer where I taught at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. I have supervised 8 PhD students to successful completion of their thesis. Having interviewed numerous UCAS candidates for degree places, I can also offer advice to hone your personal statement.

Tutoring Experience

Previous A'level results are: 100% A*-C, 85% A*-A, 8% B, 7% C. 100% of students got into their first choice universities and 31% achieved placed in medical school. These grades are representative of the results achieved in previous years. 2022 GCSE results were 100% grades 9-7 from students taking higher level papers and 100% grade 5 from students sitting the foundation level papers (the highest grade they could attain).

I have been a full-time tutor for the past five years and I am the immediate past Vice-President of The Tutors Association, the professional body for the tuition industry. I was elected into this position by members of the tutoring profession and tutor as a full-time profession.

I am very familiar with all the major examination boards (AQA, OCR, EdExcel, IB, CIE), I have recent school-based teaching experience at secondary level and I am a current biology examiner which enables me to explain things from "the examiner's perspective"!

I have worked with children with special educational needs such as Asperger Syndrome, autism, ADHD, partial hearing and dyslexia. Having lived and worked abroad for a number of years, I also have experience of working with students for whom English is an additional language.

Tutoring Approach

During the covid-19 pandemic my tutoring has been exclusively online. However, for those that prefer face to face, I can offer that at my home, where I have an area which is free from distractions and all my materials and resources are immediately available to make tuition as effective as possible.

I believe in taking a very individual approach to tutoring, adapting approaches and resources to fit the needs of the individual. Prior to commencing tuition we will agree tuition goals and I will work with these to develop a personalized scheme of learning. During tuition I will monitor student progress and keep records of this so that learning and attainment can be tracked and approaches can be continually adapted to meet the developing needs of the learner.

However, most importantly of all, I believe learning should be fun. I am friendly and approachable and I work hard to ensure students enjoy having tuition, which ultimately will maximize the progress they make.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Sheffield Hallam University1996BachelorsBSc(Hons) Biomedical Chemistry
Imperial College London2001DoctoratePhD Analytical Biochemistry
Nottingham Trent University2013ProfessionalPost Graduate Certificate in Studies in Education (Distinction)
Imperial College London2000OtherDiploma of Imperial College

Clare's Feedback

Feedback
8
Published feedback
8
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Clare
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Click here for more Maths tutors