Information About Claire - Esher tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Claire's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Claire:





Subjects Taught

Claire offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £22.00£19.80
GCSE £25.00£22.50
A-Level £25.00£22.50
University £25.00£22.50
Casual Learner £25.00£22.50


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £22.00£19.80
GCSE £25.00£22.50

Study Skills

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £22.00£19.80
GCSE £25.00£22.50
A-Level £22.00£19.80
University £22.00£19.80

Map Location

Map for Claire (Miss)


Personal Description:

I graduated last year with a First Class degree in English and Related Literature from Russell Group institution, the University of York. I'm now studying for an MA in Literary Studies at Durham University, where I specialise in modern and contemporary literature. I received over 96% in my English Literature A-Level, and got 100% UMS marks in both my English Literature and English Language GCSEs.
Safe to say - I love my subject, and I know how to produce essays and research of the highest quality.

As a music scholar at school (I'm post ABRSM Grade 8 piano and double bass), I played in numerous ensembles, have sung in several choirs, enjoyed composition, and performed as a soloist, all of which contributed towards my A-Level in the subject.

I'm an incredibly busy individual, and so I've learnt excellent time management and study skills, which I'd love to pass on.

Hence, teaching English, Music, and study skills - although the rigorous grammatical, structural, and argumentative qualities needed for my studies are transferrable, and I'm happy to give advice on anything essay-related.

As a person, I'm chatty, approachable, extremely friendly, and creative. I'm very invested in those I tutor, and want you to excel.

Tutoring Experience:

I volunteered at Disability Challengers as a play worker for over three years, have been a horse riding instructor since the age of sixteen, and have coached lacrosse at various levels, and so have a wealth of experience in teaching.

My two younger siblings have taken very similar subjects to me across their own academic careers, and I've been very involved with their coursework and examination preparation - a ringing endorsement, as siblings are hard to please!

Tutoring Approach:

I believe firmly in lessons being fun, interactive, and well-structured.
I want my tutees to enjoy their time with me, which I aim to make challenging and very dynamic, and also for that enthusiasm to continue outside of classes, so that improvements can be continual and sustained.
I ask a lot of questions, prepare multiple exercises, and ensure that sessions are as far from lectures as possible; if you're engaging with the content, you understand it so much better, and will be learning without even realising it.
I'm also very happy to put in work outside of our sessions, in the form of marking exercises, proof reading essays, and researching your area of study, so that I can be as helpful as possible.

If you have any questions, please get in touch.

Looking forward to meeting you!


  • University of York (2015) - 1st BA English and Related Literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Guildford High School (2012) - A* English A-Level (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Guildford High School (2012) - A History A-Level (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Guildford High School (2012) - A Music A-Level (College) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Esher English tutor, Esher Music tutor, Esher Study Skills tutor, Esher Secondary English tutor, Esher GCSE English tutor, Esher A-Level English tutor, Esher University English tutor, Esher Casual Learner English tutor, Esher Secondary Music tutor, Esher GCSE Music tutor, Esher Secondary Study Skills tutor, Esher GCSE Study Skills tutor, Esher A-Level Study Skills tutor, Esher University Study Skills tutor