Skip to main content

Information About Claire - Ladbroke Grove tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Claire's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Claire:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £35.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £35.00

Map Location

Map for Claire (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

Hello! I am friendly, approachable and passionate about teaching English!

I'm a qualified English teacher, I have been teaching for five years, and I teach ages 11-16 at an Outstanding Wembley Secondary School currently. I really enjoy tutoring as it gives the opportunity to help your child to improve at their own level and pace which they may not always get the chance to do at school. I find it very rewarding to help children to discover that perhaps although they are finding English at school tough, boring or just not tailored to the way they learn best; they find our tutoring sessions both challenging and fun and can be proud of their progress.

Tutoring Experience:

I'm an experienced and qualified English teacher with a PGCE in Secondary English from The University of East Anglia. I studied at The University of Sheffield towards my BA English Language and Linguistics degree and attained an upper 2:1. My specialisms are English Language and language acquisition. I completed a TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) module whilst studying in Sheffield.

I have experience teaching the Edexcel, WJEC and AQA GCSE English Language and Literature courses; I have some knowledge tutoring a student taking iGCSE English (who attained an A* after tutoring with me for a year and a half, beating her B grade prediction); I have a knowledge of the AQA and Edexcel AS and A-Level English Language and Literature courses. Further to this, I have some experience of phonics and how children learn English at a primary level which is very useful in enabling me to be as supportive as possible in the transition stage between primary and secondary.

Tutoring Approach:

I offer a student centered approach to tutoring. Initially, we work together to establish what are the main things you and your child hope to achieve from our sessions and discuss how I can help them to learn in the way that is most effective and helpful to their progress.

Unfortunately, due to the pressures and constraints of normal school life - rarely do teachers get the chance to work one on one with a student and really establish how their brain works and how they learn most effectively.

We all think and learn differently - who knows what your child could aspire to until we've unlocked their true potential… I also offer tutoring services to adults who are either learning English as an additional language or studying towards an English qualification; I work with the same ethos and approach towards all my tutees.

I am based in Queen's Park and am available for tuition on Saturday morning; I have my own transport and am willing to drive up to 30 minutes to come to you which is included in my hourly fee. If I need to pay for parking whilst tutoring your child then that shall be an additional cost charged to you.

Qualifications:

  • University of East Anglia (2012) - Secondary English (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Sheffield (2011) - English Language and Linguistics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Ladbroke Grove English tutor, Ladbroke Grove English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ladbroke Grove Secondary English tutor, Ladbroke Grove GCSE English tutor, Ladbroke Grove A-Level English tutor, Ladbroke Grove Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor