Skip to main content

Information About Christopher - Exeter tutor

References

This is how 3 referees rated Christopher:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Map Location

Map for Christopher (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a stay-at-home dad, looking after my two year old son Alistair. I currently work as a freelance web developer and tutor, as these hours allow me to be flexible for my fathering duties.

Tutoring Experience:

I taught Mathematics in Devon for five years and have also held the position of Assistant Head of Maths at a large Exeter secondary school. I have taught Maths to all levels within Key Stage 3 as well as to both Higher and Foundation tier GCSE to the specifications of the three main exam boards: EdExcel, AQA and OCR.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe in conversation-led learning, especially with Mathematics and the one-to-one or small group approach that tuition promotes is ideal for this. Mathematics is about developing ideas and understanding, which can be difficult to do in a large group setting such as a classroom. I also believe in practice for understanding; each and every exam paper will have questions that are presented in a slightly different way and it is vital to develop a deeper understanding of how and what a question is asking you to do. As such, there will be a lot of past paper exposure during my tuition sessions.

Qualifications:

  • NA (2010) - QTS (QTS) (✘ Not On File)
  • UCP Marjon (2009) - 11-19 Mathematics (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Exeter (2005) - BSc Pure & Applied Mathematics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Exeter Maths tutor, Exeter Primary Maths tutor, Exeter Secondary Maths tutor, Exeter GCSE Maths tutor