Skip to main content

Information About Christopher - Twickenham tutor

Profile Picture

Christopher's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Christopher:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £20.00

Music

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £30.00

Map Location

Map for Christopher (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

My name is Chris, I'm 27, and before I decided that I would get a formal teaching qualification, I had tried my hand at a great many other things.This is partly because I love to learn, and I love adventures and challenges. In this respect, I think I'm kind of a big kid really! However, I think it is this zeal for discovery and partiality to the fun side of learning that makes young people respond well to me. I spent several years as a guitar teacher, and also taught a few other instruments, and always my priority was that my students enjoyed the process of learning. I am a positive, outgoing person, and my interests are varied; I also enjoy cooking, exercising, music (naturally) and drama. I do not believe that subjects or disciplines exist in isolation, and I feel that being able to relate subjects that might appear academic to everyday practical situations or creative endeavours is a great way to get people thinking in a more three dimensional way.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a mature student of education who found his way to the profession through exploration and experience. As I mentioned, I used to teach guitar. I worked at the Oporto British School, in Portugal, for three years. I gave instrument lessons on a peripatetic basis, and was very popular (at one point teaching 10% of the school's pupils) but I couldn't resist getting involved in all aspects of the school's performing arts programme. This led to me helping out full time across the school as a cover teacher and classroom assistant. It was this experience that led me to embark on an undergraduate course at St. Mary's University in Twickenham studying Education and Social Science. I am working towards becoming a fully qualified primary teacher. As part of my course I have undertaken several work placements, and have received high praise and top percentile marks for all.

Tutoring Approach:

Whether your son or daughter needs homework support, exam preparation, or just someone to support their learning within a busy home environment; I want to ensure that they develop a love of learning outside the classroom, as well as within it. In fact, I would love to make my position obsolete by engendering a love of learning under their own steam. To encourage your child to challenge themselves! I will tailor my approach to fit your child's personality and needs, and give them a fun and supportive learning environment where they feel safe to express their concerns and misunderstandings that they might lack the confidence to express in class. Sometimes it is just a matter of saying out loud what they are afraid to question in front of their peers that can be the key to unlocking a subject or skill.

I will always seek to teach in line with their class teacher, whilst simultaneously offering extra materials and ideas that support their learning in line with their peers.

In the case of entrance exams, ensuring that they have a full and confident grasp of the disciplines necessary to pass the exams, as well as familiarity with test papers to give them the best possible chance of success.

In short I believe, a positive, fun and engaging approach to child centred learning in a comfortable and safe environment is a surefire recipe for success.

Qualifications:

  • St. Mary's University (2016) - BA/BSc Education and Social Science (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • New College Swindon (2006) - A Levels Music Tech & Drama (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Kingsdown School, Swindon (2004) - GCSE's 9 @ A to C including Maths, English & Science (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Twickenham English tutor, Twickenham Entrance Exams tutor, Twickenham Music tutor, Twickenham Primary English tutor, Twickenham Secondary English tutor, Twickenham Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Twickenham Primary Music tutor, Twickenham Secondary Music tutor