Skip to main content

Information About Christopher - Dover tutor -

Profile Picture

Christopher's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Christopher:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Map Location

Map for Christopher

Personal Description:

I have been involved in teaching for 30 years in six schools. Beginning in Derbyshire I then taught in Warwickshire and Leicestershire before moving to Kent. I have taught in many different types of school ranging from high schools through comprehensives to Kent grammar schools. I currently teach in an 11-18 school with particular involvement with examination classes. I am currently an examiner for GCE A Level and highly involved in university applications as a sixth form tutor. I have been heavily involved in EPQ projects too. I am very keen on both reading and writing literature and have been a student and teacher of Creative Writing.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught all my career in the secondary sector. Since 1988 I have taught GCSE sets in English Language and English Literature every year. I have seen many thousand students succeed over three decades of practice. For the last eight years I have been heavily involved in GCE A Level usually teaching multiple sets each year. I am used to both whole class teaching and intervention work which resembles tutoring in key ways. I like to motivate students and have worked in schools where teaching has not always been easy. I have worked with students for whom a GCSE pass was a great achievement and with others who have achieved Oxbridge places. I enjoy the successes of all students. I have worked mainly in mixed schools but have single sex experience in Kent.

Tutoring Approach:

I try to bring my enthusiasm for texts to my tuition. I am always prepared to model work to give students guidance as to successful techniques. I believe in doing my homework too by reading up on the texts I am tutoring and the requirements of the different examination boards. I enjoy working with students on mastering markschemes and past papers. I try to make passing exams enjoyable as well as rewarding. I see writing well as a valuable skill in itself that can be learnt by any student who is determined to improve.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of York (1994) - Educational Studies (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • University of Leeds (1988) - PGCE English and Drama (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of York (1987) - MA Educational Studies (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of York (1985) - BA English and Education (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Dover English tutor, Dover Secondary English tutor, Dover GCSE English tutor, Dover A-Level English tutor