Skip to main content

Information About Christopher - Dundee tutor

Profile Picture

Christopher's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Christopher:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Christopher offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am currently completing my HND Biomedical Sciences course at Dundee and Angus College (having completed my HNC Applied Sciences course at Perth College a few years ago), and will be progressing onto the BSc Biological Sciences course at University of Dundee. I'm 26 and was born and raised in Dundee and so I know the area well. I had some personal difficulties with learning and bullies in high school which I have managed to overcome with help, and so I am sensitive to those who lack confidence when it comes to school or studying related matters.

I also have several years worth of babysitting experience due to my sisters having seven children among them (ranging from 18 to only a few months old) and am very good at interacting and working with children and young adults. Due to this I have knowledge of the old SQA Standard Grade, National 3, 4, 5 and Higher Chemistry and Biology due to helping my nieces with these subjects and having studied some of these levels myself.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring from 2008 or so as, since I was frequently roped into babysitting them, I would be the go-to adult for helping my nieces and nephew with homework and so forth. As they have grown older, and the course work more demanding and advanced, so has my own knowledge of the ever changing Scottish curriculum, and how different each child is when it comes to learning. Throughout my time in college as a student representative, I have also encouraged and helped my fellow classmates with their own study problems and provided study tips and learning strategies that I've found very useful in my experience, and recently I've even began tutoring a close friend of mine as she is wanting to broaden her career prospects by becoming a scientist and not just be a stay-at-home mum anymore.

Tutoring Approach:

To begin with, I typically like to spend the first session going over what it is the student is studying, the level and what previous topics they have already covered/have an understanding of. Then I get right down to the problem: what issues, if any, they have with the course or studying. Then I try to get a picture of their study style (e.g. Are they a visual learner? etc.) and once I have all this information I then begin the process of building lessons suitable to the level and needs of the student. Of course this is done collaboratively as I feel it is really important that the student also has a say in what they want to get out of a lesson.

When it comes to actually tutoring a student, I like to go over the work in chunks, with a few short questions at the end of each chunk to ensure that the student is learning and understanding the coursework. I also encourage discussions and ask the student to be very open and talk about any problems with the tutoring session if and when they arise so as no breakdowns in communication occur and to ensure they are fully grasping all concepts being thrown at them. I also feel this develops confidence as it's not easy to be brave enough to ask questions or ask for help sometimes. I also like to ensure independent thinking and study by asking the student to read up on certain subjects/come up with their own projects as this is a critical skill that they will need in all aspects of life (whether it's at work or in further education).

I am generally laid back, but won't tolerate laziness when it comes to studying and learning as I feel very strongly that education is really important at helping one achieve their dreams, as a result I'm generally no-nonsense in my tutoring approach. I also respect the value of homework and am quite fond of giving out little homework tasks and surprise quizzes to ensure the student is vigilante with their learning.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Dundee and Angus College (2018) - HND Biomedical Sciences (College) (in progress)
  • Perth College UHI (2015) - HNC Applied Sciences (College) (✔ On File)

Tags: Dundee Chemistry tutor, Dundee Biology tutor, Dundee Secondary Chemistry tutor, Dundee GCSE Chemistry tutor, Dundee A-Level Chemistry tutor, Dundee Secondary Biology tutor, Dundee GCSE Biology tutor, Dundee A-Level Biology tutor