Skip to main content

Information About Christine - Brierley Hill tutor -

Profile Picture

Christine's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Christine:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
A-Level £28.00
University £28.00

Map Location

Map for Christine

Personal Description:

I am semi-retired but tutor part-time while continuing academic pursuits.I have recently achieved a Master's degree in 19th Century Literature and Culture at Birmingham University in addition to my Open University MA in English. I have successfully taught a range of students from Primary to A level over the years and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, but now focus mainly on GCSE and A level tuition. Although most of my spare time activities are academic ones, I do enjoy listening to music and playing the piano, and try to play a bit of tennis in the Summer months.

Tutoring Experience:

I taught English A Level and GCSE in Further Education for several years after finishing my first degree before deciding to teach privately. I have successfully tutored all ages of students from Primary to Undergraduate level in English, and some basic Primary Maths, but now focus mainly on GCSE and A level English. My experience as an examiner in GCSE and A level English Language and Literature has enhanced my knowledge of exam requirements as well as giving me an appreciation of the student experience nationally. In my tutoring experience I have encountered all the requirements of the major exam boards so am familiar with almost every English syllabus and the most popular literary texts. I have received 100% positive feedback from students to date.

Tutoring Approach:

I find that one to one tuition enables the student to be honest about individual weaknesses, so we can then concentrate on those. I like to devise an individual plan but continually adapt this to suit the circumstances. When required, I am happy to research and prepare in my own time, and I enjoy seeing the student gain in confidence and ability as the weeks progress. My own studies at Master's level have considerably widened my knowledge of Literature while enhancing my own writing skills and thus my ability to help students develop theirs, at all levels. My role as an examiner has given me insight regarding the requirements of exam boards which I will pass on where appropriate in my tutoring. Although I prefer face to face tuition, I am happy to mix this with online support where necessary. In general though, I would only offer tuition that is exclusively online to older students needing help with written expression.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Birmingham (2017) - MA Literature and Culture (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • OPEN UNIVERSITY (2014) - MERIT PASS (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Wolverhampton University (1993) - B A HONS 2(1) IN ENGLISH (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Brierley Hill English tutor, Brierley Hill A-Level English tutor, Brierley Hill University English tutor