Skip to main content

Information About Chris - Newark tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Chris:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Government and Politics

Hourly Rate
A-Level £15.00

Law

Hourly Rate
A-Level £15.00

Music

Hourly Rate
GCSE £10.00

PE / Sport Science

Hourly Rate
GCSE £10.00

Map Location

Map for Chris (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I graduated from the University of Huddersfield with a BA (Hons) in Politics and Law. I have a very keen interest in current affairs and have a good working nowledg of local politics. I am also very interested in the law and legal matters. I have excellent communication skills which allow me to pitch my language and teaching style to suit the needs of the tutee. I have a very lively and engaging teaching style along with a very approachable and accessible personality. I am also very patient and courteous, priding myself on my approach to equality of opportunity.

I have a range of interests including playing the piano, art and TaeKwon-Do, in which I hold a 3rd dan black belt and have many years teaching experience. I enjoy watchng and playing most sports.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching at Stockport College for teh last 3 years. I have taught across level 1, 2 and 3 and across age groups from 14 to adults. This has given me a great deal of experiece teaching across a varied spectrum. I achieved a grade 1 result in my last observation which is a testement to my successful and engaging approch to teching.

I have been teaching on the public services programme, specialising in the English Legal System and Governmemnt and Policies units. I have also taught Fitness testing and Crime and its Effects on Society. Further to this I have been a progress tutor for 30 students shich has given me the skills required to monitor performance and achievement as well as setting achievable goals and targets.

Tutoring Approach:

I always try to make the learning fun, engaging, creative and relevant. I use as many analogies as possible to allow complex theories and points relevant to what the tutee is already familiar with. I work to the tutee's preferred learning style, but employ a range of activities aross styles and levels to allow learning to stick. Assessment is a key part of my leaching, but this very rarely takes the form of formal tests. Assessment needs to be fun and engaging too and is done through presentations and games.

Qualifications:

  • Uniiversity of Huddersfield (2009) - Pass (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Huddersfield (2006) - 2:2 BA (Hons) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Wakefield College (2003) - Law A Level Grade C (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Wakefield College (2003) - Politics A Level Grade C (College) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Newark Government and Politics tutor, Newark Law tutor, Newark Music tutor, Newark PE / Sport Science tutor, Newark A-Level Government and Politics tutor, Newark A-Level Law tutor, Newark GCSE Music tutor, Newark GCSE PE / Sport Science tutor