Skip to main content

Information About Chris - Kenilworth tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Chris's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Chris:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

Combined Science

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

Map Location

Map for Chris (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

Hi, my name is Chris . I am an enthusiastic, semi-retired primary school teacher with a lot of experience of teaching different ages and abilities. I am currently teaching part-time at a Coventry primary school as a specialist Year 6 maths/English intervention tutor. I am also tutoring several children after school for both English and maths ranging from Year 1 to Year 6. Building confidence and making maths/English fun to learn is a key element of my learning style and I have a good track record of helping pupils to make accelerated progress and to reach or exceed their potential.
I have lived in Kenilworth with my wife and 2 children for the past 15 years. I have a lot of hobbies including football, music, travel and golf. I am also in the process of publishing my first book for children. Now that I am semi-retired I have a little more time for tutoring in the late afternoon or evenings. I look forward to hearing from you.

Tutoring Experience:

I have 30 years teaching experience and have taught ages 6 to 12. I have considerable experience of teaching Year 6 and helping children prepare for their KS2 SAT’s. I enjoy teaching children of all abilities and have experience of teaching children who find maths/English more challenging as well as those who are attempting to achieve the highest grades (Level 6 at KS2). As Deputy Head for many years I was responsible for teaching and tutoring individuals and small groups. The groups included children who were aiming to achieve level 3, 4, 5 and/or 6 in their maths/English KS2 test. I am very familiar with the KS2 maths & English curriculum – old and new!

Tutoring Approach:

I am an enthusiastic and positive tutor with high (but realistic) expectations. As mentioned above, building confidence and making learning fun is central to my learning style. In my experience, celebrating small learning steps encourages children to persevere and develop greater confidence and knowledge of their subject. Playing interactive games makes learning more fun but also helps children to develop speed of recall in mental maths which is so vital for progress. Encouraging children to become more independent and reflect on what they need to improve is also a key element of my teaching style. Finally, the development of good test technique is vital and it is an area I always put a lot of time into. This includes going over exam questions and identifying key words to help children understand how to solve them in logical steps.

Qualifications:

  • Goldsmiths Univeristy of London (1985) - Primary Teacher (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Coventry (Lanchester) University/Polytechnic (1983) - BSc(hons) Applied Biology 2:2 (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Kenilworth Maths tutor, Kenilworth English tutor, Kenilworth Combined Science tutor, Kenilworth Primary Maths tutor, Kenilworth Primary English tutor, Kenilworth Primary Combined Science tutor