Skip to main content

Information About Chris - Alexandria tutor

Profile Picture

Chris's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Chris:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Chris

Personal Description:

I am a 35 year old graduate in Mathematics who is a recently retired officer in the Armed Forces. It has always been my long term aspiration to retire into the teaching profession and I will be embarking on my new career in Aug 18. I truly love my subject of Mathematics and hope to pass some of that enthusiasm on to both the next generation or any adults I teach and I gain enormous satisfaction by seeing the development in my students. I am committed and determined in the pursuit of progress with those I work with and can be relied upon to attend planned sessions and give appropriate feedback.
I have a full PVG Disclosure Certificate which I will bring to our first meeting.

Tutoring Experience:

Whilst at University I used to be a teaching assistant in a local school and all through my career in the Armed Forces I have been tutoring and mentoring individuals who are completing qualifications in service. In the past year, I have taught the entire GCSE Mathematics syllabus in 6 weeks a couple of times whilst tutoring Nat 5 and Higher students. I will be completing my PGDE in Aug 18 to qualify as a teacher in the classroom and have been into a number of schools in preparation for that. With all this experience I have a vast array of resources which I can use to enhance our sessions.

Tutoring Approach:

The key emphasis for my tutoring style is the relationship with the student and parent as appropriate. In order to be most effective, our first session will be an analysis of the syllabus to understand where weaknesses are and a look forward to when exams are in order to target them. Once this analysis has been completed then together we will decide on a plan and a way forward with the focus being on building confidence in the areas of weakness in particular. The key emphasis is that this is a shared objective between student, parent and myself. My ultimate aim is for students to start enjoying Mathematics and for them to share the satisfaction of solving the various problems they will face at their level.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Bath (2004) - BSc(Hons) Mathematics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Alexandria Maths tutor, Alexandria Secondary Maths tutor, Alexandria GCSE Maths tutor, Alexandria A-Level Maths tutor, Alexandria University Maths tutor, Alexandria Casual Learner Maths tutor