Skip to main content

Information About Chris - Alfreton tutor -


This is how 2 referees rated Chris:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

As a committed and organised educationalist of over 25 years standing, I love working with young people to help them overcome academic difficulties and gain confidence which enables them to master a subject and make sound progress.
Over the years I have helped many students to attain higher than expected grades and am an experienced personal tutor with clients aged 6 to 60 years. Whether you need help with preparation for SATs, GCSEs, A Levels or are a mature professional needing English language booster sessions, I look forward to assisting you.
Reading novels and poetry is my special love and I also listen all kinds of music from clasical, Guns and Roses and Green Day to Pink and Alisha Dixon .
I have also played in brass bands since I was a teenager and have confidently given instruction to beginners in reading music and learning valved brass instruments and recorder.
My family are also keen rugby league fans and we have season tickets for the Bradford Bulls! (At the moment they need all the support they can get!)

Tutoring Experience:

Throughout my career I have taught a variety of subjects in both primary and secondary mainstream schools as well as working within the special educational needs sector. My main focus has been English from Key Stage 2 up to 'A'Level Literature. I particularly enjoy helping students overcome the stumbling blocks that many seem to encounter when trying to unlock the secrets in poetry or understand the language of Shakespeare.
Having also taught French to GCSE as well as Maths and Humanities, I have witnessed firsthand how students respond to different subjects and learning strategies. My recent experiences over the past two years in the one-to-one initiative in schools tutoring English and Maths has reaffirmed my belief that individual tuition can be invaluable in remotivating students.
I am an experienced qualifications board examiner and hold a current CRB certificate.

Having had recent experience tutoring for the trainee teacher skills tests , I now offer tuition in both literacy and numeracy relevant to these.

Tutoring Approach:

With an approach which is structured but friendly and conversational, my aim is to make learning relevant but fun while helping tutees to gain competence and confidence in their area of study.

N.B. Now offering tuition for Professional Skills Tests for Trainee Teachers in Literacy and Numeracy. (PST)

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • Nottingham University (1993) - Cert. F P S in Ed. Counselling (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • OCR (1990) - Cert of Accreditation SMP Maths (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Nottingham University (1974) - B ED (Hons) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Trent University (1973) - Cert. ED (Professional) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Alfreton Maths tutor, Alfreton English tutor, Alfreton French tutor, Alfreton Music tutor, Alfreton Primary Maths tutor, Alfreton Secondary Maths tutor, Alfreton Primary English tutor, Alfreton Secondary English tutor, Alfreton GCSE English tutor, Alfreton A-Level English tutor, Alfreton Casual Learner English tutor, Alfreton Primary French tutor, Alfreton Secondary French tutor, Alfreton GCSE French tutor, Alfreton A-Level French tutor, Alfreton Casual Learner French tutor, Alfreton Primary Music tutor