Skip to main content

Information About Chris - Bloomsbury tutor

Profile Picture

Chris's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Chris:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £13.00
Secondary £15.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Chris

Personal Description:

My name is Chris, I am a graduate of the University of Manchester and I am based in London, UK. I received my CELTA english teaching qualification from the University of Sheffield in 2014 and have been teaching English as a foreign language ever since.

I am passionate about teaching English and am dedicated to my students 100%. I am a patient and passionate teacher, committed to my students and their needs. My lessons are fun, engaging and my students are never under any pressure. I provide all worksheets and course books (digital and photocopies) so there is no need to buy books.

I will also be able to assess what level to work with at the start in the first lesson.

Tutoring Experience:

Since receiving my CELTA qualification in 2014, I have had 2 english teaching posts in 2 different places- Moscow and Prague. In both jobs, I taught a whole range of ages and a whole range of levels from age 3 to adult and beginner to advanced.

There was a strong focus on personal development in both jobs. I attended seminars and workshops weekly in order to improve my teaching techniques, whilst gaining and sharing new ideas.

I am particularly experienced in young learner english teaching from ages 3 to 10 having taught over 300 kindergarten children per week in Prague. I am very good with children and particularly enjoy building confidence and english ability whilst having fun.

I have taught many adult classes including Beginner, Elementary, Pre-Intermediate, Intermediate, Upper-Intermediate, Advanced and Conversation classes. I am a flexible teacher and will focus on what my students are most interested in.

Tutoring Approach:

My teaching approach is relaxed and enjoyable, yet effective. I believe that no matter what level or age- a relaxed teaching environment proves great progress. In my young learner classes, I provide flashcards, story books and worksheets. I like to teach with songs and games and children like these techniques very much.

With young learners between 11-17, I will tailor each lesson to their needs and interests. I like my students to be interested in the topics they cover and believe this will increase their want to learn and also their enjoyment of the lessons. Again, I produce my own material.

My adult classes are also tailored to the specific needs of each student. I am flexible and focus on whichever area of english the student would like to focus on and needs to focus on to improve their language as a whole.

I provide a relaxed and engaging atmosphere, combining illuminating topics, fun games with progress and development.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German, Russian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Sheffield (2014) - CELTA - Pass (Other) (✔ On File)
  • University of Manchester (2014) - 2:1, (BA) Classical Studies (Hons) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • The King's School in Macclesfield (2011) - English Literature (A) (College) (✔ On File)
  • The King's School in Macclesfield (2011) - History (A) (College) (✔ On File)

Tags: Bloomsbury English (Foreign Language) tutor, Bloomsbury Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Bloomsbury Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Bloomsbury Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor