Skip to main content

Information About Charlotte - Wallsend tutor

Profile Picture

Charlotte's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Charlotte:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Charlotte offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Charlotte

Personal Description:

Hi, I'm Charlotte, I am a fully qualified Maths teacher who taught in Manchester for 7 years before moving up to Newcastle. I am friendly, positive and relaxed. No one needs (or likes) a grumpy Maths teacher.

I loved teaching Maths in secondary school and am keen to keep tutoring Maths 'outside school hours' for those people who need or would like a little extra support (or maybe a different way of looking at things, as we definitely aren't all wired the same way)

I now study Medicine at Newcastle university

Tutoring Experience:

I worked full-time as a Maths teacher for 7 years. I taught secondary school students (aged 11-16) and taught from year 7 all the way up to year 11. I have taught extensively for KS3 and KS4 exams, end of year exams, Maths and Statistics GCSEs and Additional Maths qualifications.

I have marked GCSE exam papers for the past 8 years too, so know the ins and outs of those more finickity exam questions (and the really common student pitfalls!)

I have tutored students outside of school from year 4 up to year 12, this has all previously come through colleagues at work, or friends of previous tutees, or word-of-mouth.

I also ran after school 'Maths surgery' for students, blending my love of Medicine and Maths into one!

Tutoring Approach:

Happy to be student-led or to offer a structure for those less sure of what they want or need.

I generally find that most students know the areas of Maths they find hard or 'don't get' and this is often a good place to start.

If the tutoring has a specific aim (e.g. Maths GCSE) I like to put a rough timetable or plan together, so we can get as much into (and out of) the sessions, to make it as useful for the student as possible. I also find it helpful to be flexible and allow time for those unexpected 'I just don't get… "s, which often pop up unexpectedly.

Happy to give supported work to do at home between sessions, and to mark any extra work the student has completed and to give full feedback.

I like to have a look at any school books or the curriculum (if possible), so I can see where in their learning the student has been, and see how best to support them moving forwards.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Manchester (2010) - Maths PGCE (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Bristol (2009) - Economics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Stratford upon Avon Grammar School for Girls (2005) - Maths, Economics, Psychology A-Levels (Grade A) (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Wallsend Maths tutor, Wallsend Primary Maths tutor, Wallsend Secondary Maths tutor, Wallsend GCSE Maths tutor, Wallsend Casual Learner Maths tutor